We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alajuela Backpackers Boutique Hostel
Panama City, Panama
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good night”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Fancy for its name: Backpackers hostel. About the Boutique Hostel, I don't know what does that really mean, yet it catches certain attention to people. Location is good, 3 minutes from the airport. Excellent for flying out. Service was good. Prices were a wee higher than average and nothing wrong to pay a bit extra. Not much of a backpackers ambience people seem to look for, but great for sleeping. Rooms are nicely done. Beds are ok, always room for improvements. Stayed for one night. Restaurant looked ok. Good view of the mountains and the airport. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoundandAround1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    48
    84
    64
    65
See reviews for
9
76
98
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This hostel is in many ways like a hotel: its fancy interior, the facilities (good hot-water shower, free airport shuttle, free internet access from wifi and 4 computers), the restaurant, the lobby... Also on a good location in the surprisingly nice town Alajuela (I liked it a lot more than San José).

The rooms are large and have only 2 bunk beds in them. They advertise with their good mattresses, but I could feel the springs in them so I wasn't too enthousiastic about them.

Being like a hotel also has its drawbacks, of which I found the commerciality the most annoying. That means: they have no communal kitchen (but a restaurant - with tourist-prices), laundry sets you back $9, airco only goes on from 10:00 AM to 10:00 AM, they advertise with $15 rooms but add $2 for taxes, all prices are in dollars and they use a $1=550 Colones exchange rate, where 1=500 is normal. There is a $1 deposit for the (card-)key and a $5 deposit for (small) lockers in the lobby.

Most people stay here on the day after arriving at / the day before leaving at San José anyway and for that purpose this is an amazing place to stay, for a reasonable price. Be sure to contact them in advance to use their free pick-up shuttle if you plan on staying here on your first day.

The staff was very friendly and also helpful, the helpfulness varying from advising me where to walk in town for lunch to getting me a knife out of the restaurant's kitchen for the fruits i brought.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatsKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2013

An average hostel, but staying here in Alajuela is much better than staying in San Jose! The TUASA bus to San Jose only costs ~ $1 (535 Colones).

Also, it was above average for cleanliness, and the airport shuttle was convenient. We didn't make it up to the top floor bar, but were told it was cool by a friend we met earlier in our trip.

But "what about the towel?" you ask. See the user-supplied photos ...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Brook, NY
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2013

A very cute hostel with an extremely useful shuttle service to the airport, and a nice little bar/restaurant. I've been to Costa Rica twice now, and both times I have used Alajuela Backpackers as an overnight accommodation for the day of my arrival and the day before my departure. At only $20pp for a private room, I really can't complain. The one thing I've noticed is that the shower heads are a little hit-or-miss as far as how functional they are.

Room Tip: I recommend a private room (just $5 more per night).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We (retired couple) stayed December 6 in a private room. We picked the hostel largely because of the airport shuttle's convenience. Staff was accommodating and coffee was ready so we could get a cup before our departure on the first shuttle. Beds were comfortable and the room clean. Only problem was a shower head that fell off. Hostel is downtown and there are many different kinds of shops and restaurants nearby as well as a large indoor market with stalls selling clothes, toys, jewelry, toiletries, etc.

Room Tip: Take a room away from the bar/restaurant, i.e. other side and above or below it. Pizza in the resta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marker90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here on our first and last night in Costa Rice and it was very convenient to stay so close to the airport (just a few minutes by car). We had a double room with private bathroom, simple but nice and clean. Remember to book the free shuttle a day in advance. They have set times for the shuttle to the airport, all before check-out time which was at 11, but they arranged and extra trip for us at 1230.
Would recommend going somewhere else for breakfast though.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kaja D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I'm not sure why some people rate this hostel very high. It's over priced and not great. We had to go ask for clean linnen at 10pm, there was a noise outside that went off every 10 seconds, and there was mud in the showers. There's also no soap in the bathrooms. The staff was helpful but it's not worth it to stay there. The food wasn't very good and wasn't cheap. The wi-fi wasn't a secure network either. The airport shuttle only runs in the morning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erin60922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alajuela hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.4 mi away
1915 Hotel
1915 Hotel
#13 of 27 in Alajuela
104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo
0.4 mi away
Maleku Hostel
Maleku Hostel
#3 of 40 in Alajuela
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santamaria
Hotel Santamaria
#17 of 58 in Alajuela
33 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Trotamundos
Hostel Trotamundos
#8 of 40 in Alajuela
113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Guaria Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alajuela Backpackers Boutique Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alajuela Backpackers Boutique Hostel

Property: Alajuela Backpackers Boutique Hostel
Address: 4th Avenue and 4th Street, Alajuela 6824 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alajuela Backpackers Boutique Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Alajuela Backpackers Boutique Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alajuela Backpackers Boutique Hotel Alajuela
Alajuela Backpackers Boutique Hostel Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing