We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The owner is back again--excellent hospitality”
Review of Hotel el Tucan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel el Tucan
Ranked #48 of 65 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 15, 2010

I have been at Hotel el Tucan for a week. The owner took over management again only two weeks ago. The hotel is not fancy but the management is friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 4578sst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 28 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2010

We visited this hotel because of web reviews. We discovered the management changed. And then the customers. Instead of foreigners, you now can find noisy locals. Manager is just customer friendly. Rooms are basic for the price... But COLD !!!! If you don't need any view and don't care with the cooking smell : idea was to propose a small kitchen. First floor room take "advantage" from this new noisy kitchen.
And to be clear, the breakfast was the most auwful we had : 10 slices of old bananas, 1 cold toast with ? marmelade, cup of coffee. Over.
Last but not least, the change we get at the desk was the worst ever. I assume the clerk was interested.
Bye.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank omfts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2010

We arrived, late at night, looking for a place to stay. We drove by the hotel and they stopped us and asked if we needed a room. The room was nice, equipped with a tv, privat bathroom, refrigerator and AC! The people are very nice and helped us out with everything, they even helped us out to buy a car. The hotel is located very close to the international airport and if you have a rental car, you can drop it off very close to the hotel.

Also there is a little store, where you can buy appliances, like cigarettes, drinks and food! They also rent out scooters and a car, so you can visit the vulcano and other sightseeings around there.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ElMerlino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2010

Had a great time in Costa Rica Thanks to Luis the owner. When we arrived to the airport in San jose they payed for our taxi when we got to the hotel. We settled in and Luis helped us with some travel tips and he was right we had a great time. So we used him for an exit hotel also. Would for sure go there again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank big9t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2010

We arrived to the hotel reveiwed our plane times with them. Off to a clean room with a small refrig for beer...... watched a movie on tv slept great and after a wake up knock. Free Coffee and fruit, toast. Then they drove us without worry to the airport 5 minutes away. Travel the way it should be.stressless.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank killertimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Iván t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: No idea sorry
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PierreBZH56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
2.5 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#11 of 27 in Alajuela
321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santamaria
Hotel Santamaria
#35 of 65 in Alajuela
36 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Pacande Bed & Breakfast
Villa Pacande Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 5 in Poas Volcano National Park
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
3.1 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#1 of 1 in Pilas
709 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel el Tucan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel el Tucan

Address: Metros Norte 200, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range: $37 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Tucan Hotel, located in Alajuela, Costa Rica. Just 10 minutes away from Juan Santamar?a?s International Airport. It?s a welcoming family hotel, a perfect place to spend the first and the last night in Costa Rica in a quiet and friendly area to enjoy your vacations in Costa Rica with your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel el Tucan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Tucan Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing