We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a wonderful start of our Costa Rica trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vista Linda Montana
Ranked #3 of 60 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Playa Negra, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“What a wonderful start of our Costa Rica trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

This B&B is close to airport (10 min drive). Despite this, we had a stunning mountain view (expected an airport hotel, but it was nothing like that). There is a gorgeous big garden with beautiful trees & flowers, it's nice and quiet with a great service from the 3 sweet lady's! I also had a great massage after a 24 hour journey!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    62
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
40
156
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

This well run B&B Hotel by a German lady is a short distance from Costa Rica airport, but in a quiet residential neighborhood, over a ridge away from any airport noise. and with a lovely garden and view. If you book a room for at least 2 days, the pick-up service from the airport is free. The attentive and thoughtful staff is multi-lingual (at least German, English and Spanish - and possibly others) and is good at anticipating your needs. Transportation to and from the airport was a breeze with their help even in the early morning (4am), as was arranging for a rental SUV which was brought right to the hotel for pickup, and left there on return. The best place to spend your first nights in country, and last night before catching a flight home. It's only a short drive to the Poas. The included European style breakfast was simple but good, and a delicious dinner of generous portions (which was ordered extra) was very good. Tranquil and a great value!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank FanOfAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

I started my trip here in the Alajuela "suburb" of San Jose, Costa Rica. This small hotel was booked sight unseen, and I was SO pleased. First of all, the staff is friendly and accommodating so that I felt right at home. The room which I had was simply furnished and very clean. Internet was complimentary and free. The property is large, has a beautiful view surrounding it, and breakfast is included. Dinners are $12. The first night I was there, it rained so much that dinner was served in my room because the dining area had had so much rain! My needs were well looked after by the multilingual staff. What a delight this place is! The only "drawback" is that one needs a taxi or car to venture out, as the neighborhood is not one to explore. I spent two nights here before meeting my tour group in the city. Definitely a safe place for a solo traveler. Highly recommended. Be sure your taxi driver knows where the hotel is, as "addresses"" are often unspecific in Costa Rica, as you can see from the above.

Room Tip: I think any room would be a good choice. All rooms would be quiet.There is no pool or fitness cente...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adventurelover88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Just one night here, but it was great. Well kept, clean, nice decor, and a nice dinner for $12 extra (fairly important, as the neighborhood us not walkable or nice; a strong gate made us feel completely safe). View of the nearby hill is lovely, the back gardens are well maintained and pleasant, and the staff was warm and fun to talk with. They also have bunnies in a cage in back, and many birds in a cage, one of which can say 'Costa Rica'. We had a nice nights sleep in room 8, which is highly recommended (upstairs with balcony and a large shower). Overall very pleasant. Only complaint was that we were charged $2 for bottled water at dinner, and not told it wasn't included with the price if the meal.

Would stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhenen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had a very nice experience staying at Linda Montana the first few days we were in Costa Rica. This hotel is situated outside of Alajuela downtown, in the suburb surroundings. Alajuela is just a small city and a 10 minute car ride away. It is handy to have a car available. We, however, travelled Costa Rica with public transport. You will be able to travel to the hotel by cab or public bus. Tip for Renate (the owner); have some flyers/maps available with the location of the bus stop(s). We could not figure out where to catch the bus to downtown.

The hotel is a pretty building in very green surroundings. It has approximately 8 rooms. Every room has an entrance through the communal porch. Also available on the porch are charming little seats; the ideal spot to relax and read a book. You will meet Nicky, the golden retriever, who loves to fetch balls. She will also do nice tricks if you save a little meat at breakfast ;-)

Our room was clean and spacious, with a nice look & feel. There was a large wardrobe, which was handy because our backpacks and all our clothes were taken out of the plane in a tropical storm and totally wet. The room also had a TV, which did not work smoothly. But who needs a TV anyway, if you have such a nice environment around.

Breakfast is served at a long communal table every morning. You might meet some nice fellow travelers! The breakfast is simple, but nice with fresh fruits, toast, jam, meat and cheese. You can take as much coffee or tea as you like.

You can also order dinner at request. You will then get the fixed dinner of that evening. We ordered it twice. The dishes were quite simple, but tasty. The portions were large. Because there were not many other guests when we stayed at Linda Montana the owner brought us dinner at the porch outside our room. She said it to be "more romantic". That kind of gestures are typically Linda Montana; the staff really wants you to have a great stay away from home!

Renate, the owner speaks German and Spanish. When we were there she was assisted by Julia, an intern, who spoke German, English and Spanish. Both were no nonsense, very nice and helpful.

When we left and told Renate that we wanted to catch the bus to La Fortuna she explained us where to find the bus station. She spontaneously offered to drive us to town and drop us off at the bus station. This was done with pleasure and without extra charges. Super service!

When we stayed at Linda Montana Renate was telling us that there would soon be a swimming pool. She would have it constructed in the upcoming months. Maybe it is ready now! This will make your stay even more perfect!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cajon, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

This well run B&B Hotel is a short distance from the San Jose, Costa Rica airport, but in a quiet residential neighborhood, over a ridge away from any airport noise. The attentive and thoughtful staff is multi-lingual (at least German, English and Spanish - and possibly others) and is good at anticipating your needs. Transportation to and from the airport was a breeze with their help, as was arranging for a rental SUV which was brought right to the hotel for pickup, and left there on return. The best place to spend your first night in country, and last night before catching a flight home. The included European style breakfast was simple but good, and a delicious dinner of generous portions (which was ordered extra) was brought right to the room. Tranquil and a great value!

Room Tip: The rooms are very clean and neat and include a safe, satellite TV, and ceiling fan. Nothing fancy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChuckAbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just visited Costa Rica for the first time, and we're so glad we chose to stay here. The hotel arranged for a shuttle to pick us up at the airport, and had our SUV delivered to us early the next morning (at a better rate than I could find online, and they threw in the GPS for free). We returned the car here at the end of our trip, stayed one more night, and were then shuttled back to the airport. You can't beat the ease and convenience (and extremely friendly staff) of this B&B!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lethalmimeranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
2.8 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
3.5 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#4 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Linda Montana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Linda Montana

Property: Vista Linda Montana
Address: Tambor Tuetal norte, 1.5km oeste de la iglesia, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vista Linda Montana 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice little cozy Hotel in Alajuela, Costa Rica. Near the airport and San Jose. Spectacular view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Vista Linda Montana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Linda Montana Hotel Alajuela
Vista Linda Montana Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing