We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“nice hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vista Linda Montana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vista Linda Montana
Ranked #3 of 56 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerpen
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Vista linda Montana is a nice hotel with beautiful views. But if you go there its recommended with a rent a car .. because its realy out of Alajuela and the locals told us its not safe to walk in the neighberhood. The room we where in was nice and big they just need to clean it a little better..spiderwebs....if it is cleaner the rooms is perfect ...perfect for 3 people! And in a bed and breakfast i expect a very nice breakfast.. but it was a little dissapointant no fresh bread, no fresh juices, and no fresh marmelade this makes me sad because in Costa rica i expect fresh food! the cofee was very nice and the fruit we got was ok The dinner is very expensive for what we got its better eat somewhere else. And they ask 15 dollars to the airport but with taxi its 10 dollars so better take a cab. So its a nice hotel, beautiful views and if they work on the critics the people give it will be perfect

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mickske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    59
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
39
148
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

I can not agree with the the two below mentioned reviews. The rooms where totally clean and lovingly furnished. The dinner was delicious as well as the breakfast. The owner was totally friendly and gave us great advices. However, the one point I can agree with is that the hotel has wonderful surroundings and a breathtaking view. I enjoyed the stay very much!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Vista Montana as we had seen very positive reviews on Trip Advisor. Needless to say, we weren't exactly pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The room was basic (which I'm totally ok with) except that it felt like we were staying in a strangers basement. The room had a crib in it (portable one) which was not removed even after it was noted that we have no children. There was a small single bed without sheets tucked into the corner of our room covered in stuffed animals (?). One of our towels had brown stains on it and it looked as though something wasn't completely cleaned off of the bathroom floor (coloured streaking). To top it off, the side tables were covered in dust and there were several cobwebs hidden around the room (not to mention the 4 bugs I had to kill upon arriving). Breakfast is slightly unsanitary - food is placed outside at 7am and left there until you decide to eat it (breakfast is from 7 - 9). When we arrived around 8, there were flies crawling all over the food (hardly appetizing). The one redeeming feature of this place is the view, it's pretty great.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Pros:
- Nice view
- Quiet (compared to the rest of Costa Rica!)
- Easy, friendly booking
- Close to the airport

Cons:
- The room was somewhat dirty. There were stains on some of the towels, the bathroom floor was dirty, and there were cobwebs and little bugs under the sink, on the walls and in the corners of the bedroom.
- When we arrived, there was a playpen in our room and the host told us it would be removed; it never was.
- The meals were nothing to write home about. The dinner was somewhat bland and the breakfast was lacking. We just had toast and tea. The fruit, eggs, and cheese was sitting and waiting on the table when we came down for breakfast, which looked rather disgusting as it was warm outside and there were bugs flying around and on the food. Perhaps if they served the food as people came out, it would have been better (fresher!)

This could be a great place if the hosts paid more attention to the details! However, we felt as if we were staying in someone's basement. Better luck next time; good value for our money I guess..

Room Tip: Get a room on the top level for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhNerd_52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed at Vista Linda Montana the first and last day of trip due to its location close to the airport. Augustine was extremely helpful before the trip via email. Our flight was arriving late at night, and I did not want to rent a car at that time. Augustine had a taxi waiting for us at the airport and he arranged a local car rental company to drop off the SUV at the hotel the next morning. Renate was amazing. She was so friendly. She showed me her lovely flowers and parrots. She offered us cold drinks when we arrived late at night. The rooms do not have air conditioning and are very basic, but it was a wonderful place to start our trip. We awoke to birds and roosters and beautiful views. Breakfast was fruit, meat cuts and the best coffee. Renate even gave us change for the toll roads!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goyeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzlia, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is a very nice place.
The price was good.
The dinner was delicious .
The host was very nice as she agreed to keep our luggage until the end of our trip.
And the dog was very cute. ;)

It is definitely a recommended hotel!

Eyal & Chen from Israel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eyal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

I was looking for a quiet place close to the airport with a garden with birds on property. For the place I find it hard to beat this place. Nice views of mountains and of the sunset. Owner do a great job and are friendly. Food was simple but good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wildlifeship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
2.8 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#4 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
3.1 mi away
Tacacori EcoLodge
Tacacori EcoLodge
#7 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Linda Montana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Linda Montana

Property: Vista Linda Montana
Address: Tambor Tuetal norte, 1.5km oeste de la iglesia, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice little cozy Hotel in Alajuela, Costa Rica. Near the airport and San Jose. Spectacular view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Vista Linda Montana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Linda Montana Hotel Alajuela
Vista Linda Montana Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing