We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“clean, quiet, excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vista Linda Montana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vista Linda Montana
Ranked #3 of 56 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sooke, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“clean, quiet, excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Vista Linda at the start and end of our vacation to Costa Rica. Booking was smooth and emails were answered promptly by Augustine. We were picked up at the airport (15 minutes away) by Augustine, who helped us with information and further tour and travel arrangements. Renate, the owner, is a warm, friendly and very welcoming host. The hotel is small, immaculately clean, and the view is beautiful out over the valleys and distance volcanoes. We had dinner there 2 nights, simple and delicious. Breakfasts were fresh fruit, cheese, meat and toast shared with other guests on the covered deck. I would highly recommend this hotel, it is a very good value for the excellent service and accommodation.
Sheila and Glen

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheila w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    59
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
39
146
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newberg, Oregon
Level Contributor
176 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

I had booked this hotel as it was a good price and close to the airport for an early morning get away. Unfortunately I booked for the wrong month. Fortunately for me, there was a room available and the hostess was very welcoming and helpful. The views from the property are terrific and they property is nicely landscaped. The room was big and modern and a nice comfy chair. There was a teddy bear as an extra welcoming touch. They have a nice breakfast on a downstairs patio and you can get dinner for an extra cost. Dinner may be a bit more than a local restaurant but the scenery while you dine is hard to beat.

I only downgraded the location due to the surrounding area and getting to the hotel. The approach to the property is less developed than the property itself. The frontage is enclosed with a green vinyl chain link fence. You need to get out of you car to press a bell to get the gate to open and enter. It is further than a comfortable walk to any shops or transportation so you need your own car to get there. There is a small car park on site.

There is also a nice friendly yellow lab on site as well and he will be your friend if you are up to throwing a slobbery ball for him. Otherwise, he will leave you alone. The hostess is very sweet and she even got up a 4:00 am to wave me off and wish me a good journey. I was really impressed with the hospitality, view and value of this hotel and would recommend it to anyone coming to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StarrsySmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My wife and I had a great experience here at the beginning and end of our Costa Rica trip. Renate and Augustine were very helpful and super friendly. They found a rental car for us that was dropped off and picked up from the hotel, saving us time and worry. The views from the patio are pretty tough to beat, too. A great alternative to staying in a chain hotel by the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the mountains. You can see Volcan Poas steaming in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

It was a very nice and pleasant stay at your hotel and I really enjoyed being at your place at my last night in Costa Rica. Time was too short but I can highly recomment this place as it is wonderful and I was warmly welcomed by Renate including sandwich service plus beer. Next day wake up service as otherwise I would have missed my plane (mobile phone did not work). Best place I had during my 14 days stay in Costa Rica and I would love to come back as soon as possible. Great thanks to Renate !!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Max S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puero Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Vista Linda Montana is very close to the airport, and the ride there was much easier and faster than if we had to go to San Jose. We were warmly welcomed by the owner Renata, we loved the breakfast and the children enjoyed the garden and view a lot.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Today I spent a spectacular day in contact with nature and the sounds of her in this wonderful place this peaceful tranquility and security
I recommend to anyone who needs a break from the noise of the city to return enegia filled this beautiful hotel service is very good and clean accessible
***Les recomendamos a todos los que vengan a Costa Rica y también a los que necesiten descansar de los ruidos de la ciudad para volver llenos de energía este BELLO HOTEL el servicio es muy bueno, seguro, accesible y limpio
Sheyla y German Barraza
Miami FlL

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheyla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

8 of us, three generations traveling together, stayed here a couple nights at each end of our Costa Rica trip. Really great service.

My only warning is that there seems to be nothing in the immediate area. Which is less of a problem than you might think because they will cook dinner if you let them know you want it. Reasonably priced, good food and great if you are in a group.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.8 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#7 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 590 reviews
2.8 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Tacacori EcoLodge
Tacacori EcoLodge
#5 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 339 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#4 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 588 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Linda Montana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Linda Montana

Property: Vista Linda Montana
Address: Tambor Tuetal norte, 1.5km oeste de la iglesia, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice little cozy Hotel in Alajuela, Costa Rica. Near the airport and San Jose. Spectacular view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Vista Linda Montana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Linda Montana Hotel Alajuela
Vista Linda Montana Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing