We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very professional, friendly and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cala Inn Bed & Breakfast Hotel
Ranked #35 of 58 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Aussersihl, Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very professional, friendly and clean”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We found this B&B via friends recommendation and liked our stay very much. The Innkeeper are very friendly, professional and forthcoming. The rooms are very tidy and clean, the price is absolutely fair, the breakfast is inclusive. The location in Alajuela is absolutely perfect, 5min walking distance to the center, while it still being very quiet location. We can absolutely recommend a stay at this little gem of a B&B!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    21
    23
    2
    10
See reviews for
3
36
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

I recommend this place if you have a short stay and me to be close to the airport. The rooms are clean, the staff is friendly and it only is a 5 dollar ride to the airport.

Please visit the nearby Cathedral in the park and museum to learn more about the history of this part of San Jose.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tikijoe32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I booked through hostelbookers this Hotel, paying my 10% of the booking and expecting to have my double room upon arrival. When I arrived they seemed to have never hears about my booking and instead of having a private double room I could have a bed in a shared room.

Apparently they charged me almost 50% more than the actual cost of the bed and didn't take the down payment into consideration. Even though this was confirmed by the employee that this would be the case.

After spending a few hours in the room I left as the beds seemed to be made of concrete and the cockroaches discussed me. The employee was kind enough to offer and call me a cab, probably one of his other scam tricks.

Room Tip: Take another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louis-Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alajuela hotels

Olathe, Kansas, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The Cala is a small quaint 3 star hotel that is perfectly situated on the Juan Santamaria square in heart of Alajuela. The hotel is 1 block away from the bus station which gives you easy access to other cities in Costa Rica. The city market is 2 blocks away and is a great place to browse and see how the locals do it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I stayed one night in a room with two single beds that had a shared bathroom next door. The inn was clean, and the (small) staff was friendly and helpful. The beds didn't look comfortable, but it turns out I had no problem.The room included a TV and a fan, but no air conditioning, so keep that in mind if you're sensative to heat. The bathroom didn't have hot water, but WARM water, which was perfect because it was hot out anyways. I visited during the rainy season and 75 is probably the coldest it gets! Breakfast in the morning was impeccable with eggs, toast, fresh fruit, coffee and juice. I have given this an average rating because of the above reasons, thing was super-impressive. The faciltity seems a little old and the street was noisy at night even though my room faced a courtyard, however, I would stay here again. Can't beat the price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissNic253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Very handy for the airport ($5 or less in taxi, also reachable by bus). Nice comfortable rooms, friendly welcome on reception, use of well equipped kitchen, pleasant reception room, breakfast included (eggs, fresh fruit, coffee), safe area to walk around in the evening with shops and places to eat nearby. If you have time to kill, visit the museum with its exhibition about the 1850s/60s revolution, it explains about Juan Santamaria whose statue is directly opposite the hotel.
Note to owner: I stayed in 2 different rooms, in one the shower worked perfectly, in the other it was cold water only, shower definitely in need of attention before the plaster on the wall crumbles away.completely!

Room Tip: Monteverde twin room with private bathroom - comfortable mattresses and fully working shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TriciaMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Cala Inn is a nice hotel for a short stay, either when you arrive at San Jose Airport or flying out early in the morning. It is only 5 minutes away from the airport. It is very clean! The personnel is very helpful. If you need a taxi to go to the airport they will arrange that for you. HOWEVER, watch out the prices!! They'll tell you its 3.000 Colones/6 Dollar to the airport and I had to pay that when they called a taxi for me! But I arrived with a "normal" taxi from the airport, driving with taximeter and it was only 1.600 Colones/approx. 3 Dollars. So I would suggest to go to the street and wait for a normal one!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carwei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo
0.2 mi away
Hotel Paradise Alajuela
Hotel Paradise Alajuela
#31 of 58 in Alajuela
14 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santamaria
Hotel Santamaria
#16 of 58 in Alajuela
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel el Tucan
Hotel el Tucan
#46 of 58 in Alajuela
25 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pacande
Hotel Pacande
#3 of 58 in Alajuela
180 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Trotamundos
Hostel Trotamundos
#8 of 41 in Alajuela
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cala Inn Bed & Breakfast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cala Inn Bed & Breakfast Hotel

Property: Cala Inn Bed & Breakfast Hotel
Address: west side of the Juan Santamaria Park, Alajuela 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cala Inn Bed & Breakfast Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cala Inn Bed & Breakfast is ideally located in Alajuela, Costa Rica. It is 2 miles from the country's main airport Juan Santamaría (SJO) and 15 minutes from the capital, San José. It is the logical starting point to visit the country's many beautiful beaches and national parks. It is simply the perfect base of operations for enjoying all that Costa Rica has to offer.If you are interested in Costa Rica's natural wonders: it's volcanoes, amazing waterfalls, beautiful pristine beaches, green luscious mountains, fantastic national parks with their unique and incredibly diversified flora and fauna, etc. If you are coming to party. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HostelWorld so you can book your Cala Inn Bed & Breakfast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cala Inn Bed & Breakfast Hotel Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing