We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cala Inn Bed; what a nice place to get lost :-)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cala Inn Bed & Breakfast Hotel
Ranked #36 of 63 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The Cala is a small quaint 3 star hotel that is perfectly situated on the Juan Santamaria square in heart of Alajuela. The hotel is 1 block away from the bus station which gives you easy access to other cities in Costa Rica. The city market is 2 blocks away and is a great place to browse and see how the locals do it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 70 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2012

I stayed one night in a room with two single beds that had a shared bathroom next door. The inn was clean, and the (small) staff was friendly and helpful. The beds didn't look comfortable, but it turns out I had no problem.The room included a TV and a fan, but no air conditioning, so keep that in mind if you're sensative to heat. The bathroom didn't have hot water, but WARM water, which was perfect because it was hot out anyways. I visited during the rainy season and 75 is probably the coldest it gets! Breakfast in the morning was impeccable with eggs, toast, fresh fruit, coffee and juice. I have given this an average rating because of the above reasons, thing was super-impressive. The faciltity seems a little old and the street was noisy at night even though my room faced a courtyard, however, I would stay here again. Can't beat the price.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissNic253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Very handy for the airport ($5 or less in taxi, also reachable by bus). Nice comfortable rooms, friendly welcome on reception, use of well equipped kitchen, pleasant reception room, breakfast included (eggs, fresh fruit, coffee), safe area to walk around in the evening with shops and places to eat nearby. If you have time to kill, visit the museum with its exhibition about the 1850s/60s revolution, it explains about Juan Santamaria whose statue is directly opposite the hotel.
Note to owner: I stayed in 2 different rooms, in one the shower worked perfectly, in the other it was cold water only, shower definitely in need of attention before the plaster on the wall crumbles away.completely!

Room Tip: Monteverde twin room with private bathroom - comfortable mattresses and fully working shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TriciaMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Cala Inn is a nice hotel for a short stay, either when you arrive at San Jose Airport or flying out early in the morning. It is only 5 minutes away from the airport. It is very clean! The personnel is very helpful. If you need a taxi to go to the airport they will arrange that for you. HOWEVER, watch out the prices!! They'll tell you its 3.000 Colones/6 Dollar to the airport and I had to pay that when they called a taxi for me! But I arrived with a "normal" taxi from the airport, driving with taximeter and it was only 1.600 Colones/approx. 3 Dollars. So I would suggest to go to the street and wait for a normal one!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carwei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We stayed here the first night we arrived in Costa Rica and the night before we flew our. Easily accessible from the airport ( $5 cab ride) and from central San Jose ( ~$1 for the pubic bus which runs frequently, or ~$20 by cab...which we took after arriving in San Jose late at night). Found the staff very helpful and friendly, the rooms were simple but comfortable and spacious. Free internet and breakfast in the morning. The morning we left early, they had no trouble with us preparing our own breakfast before our departure.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missinindia74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2011

This hostel was pretty clean and well kept; a nice communal kitchen for example and a little lounge area with tv and balcony and pretty fast internet on the pc's in the hallway (free). Not supercheap but we stayed here for one night only so it was okay. We saw lots of people in the square, but mostly children, nothing threatening. off course walkin there in the middle of the night could be risky, just as in about any urban area in CR though i never felt uncomfortable
only 5 min to the airport from here
good place to stay on your first or last night in CR

only bad thing was the condom i think it doesnt happen regularly, for the rest it was very clean :)

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rens8612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

I was staying at hotel Cala Inn before meeting up with a group I was leading (part of the Caribbean Experience I direct (http://www.costaribbean.com) , and Mario and his partner made sure I felt at home: Clean rooms, a nice lounge, and the staff was informative about letting me know about where to go to eat around Alajuela- a charming town. Breakfast was great, and the price is affordable! It is located in a central place, 2 blocks from the central plaza. The owner also helped me get a driver to take me and my friend to Volcan Poas.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yarokad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pacande
Hotel Pacande
#3 of 63 in Alajuela
188 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
2.8 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#1 of 1 in Pilas
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
880 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
1.2 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cala Inn Bed & Breakfast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cala Inn Bed & Breakfast Hotel

Address: west side of the Juan Santamaria Park, Alajuela 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range: $16 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cala Inn Bed & Breakfast Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cala Inn Bed & Breakfast is ideally located in Alajuela, Costa Rica. It is 2 miles from the country's main airport Juan Santamaría (SJO) and 15 minutes from the capital, San José. It is the logical starting point to visit the country's many beautiful beaches and national parks. It is simply the perfect base of operations for enjoying all that Costa Rica has to offer.If you are interested in Costa Rica's natural wonders: it's volcanoes, amazing waterfalls, beautiful pristine beaches, green luscious mountains, fantastic national parks with their unique and incredibly diversified flora and fauna, etc. If you are coming to party. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HostelWorld so you can book your Cala Inn Bed & Breakfast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cala Inn Bed & Breakfast Hotel Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing