We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food, great margaritas!”
Review of Jalapenos Central

Jalapenos Central
Ranked #1 of 182 Restaurants in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $9
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Open 7 days a week. Mon- sat 11:30-9:00 pm Sun 11:30-8:00 pm Accept credit cards except American express
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome food, great margaritas!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Our last night in Costa Rica, and of course we went to Jalapenos Central based on Trip Advisor recommendations. The place is low key and pretty chilled, the service is very good and the food was terrific! It was a treat to just hang out after wandering the streets of downtown Alejuela. After some appetizers, my sister and I split a meal, and they were kind enough to split it on to two plates. How awesome!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DreamerGirl1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    487
    156
    44
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Amazing! The food was excellent and the waiter was super Nice and friendly! My boyfriend had the monster burrito which was really good Than i had enchiladas! The Margarita was quite strong but for the rest it was perfect and it a good place to eat just before going back home.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marie0669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best food and service”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Small, quaint, great service and excellent food...what more could you ask for. Stopped in for lunch before a long day of shopping. The owner is fluent in Spanish and English. Personal service and the cutest little helper who happily hands you a menu.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trish C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weatherford, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere AND Food”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Took the family of six to Jalapeno's and experienced a wonderful slice of friendly (Norman is great) environment and wonderful food. What you get here is a mix of western Tex-Mex and Tico ingredients. I highly recommend the Patacones Nachos and the hot sauce (it is HOT). Every single thing the six of us had was outstanding. Oh, by the way do not eave without having a margarita.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LSUTIgerfan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yeah for Jalapeños!”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

We were spending our last night in Alejuela before ending our wonderful Costa Rica vacation. Our son found jalapeños on Trip Advisor rated #1. Not easy to find as Costa Ricans don't seem to need street signs, addresses or maps. Somehow we were able to locate it by google maps. Kind of sketchy area of town, at least in the dark, but what a wonderful little place to walk into. Our eldest son, a vegetarian, declared it to be the best food he had eaten in Costa Rica! I think he had a bean and cheese burrito. I had the chicken flautas, which were great after days of rice and beans and comida tipica. Owner and waiters were friendly. Check it out! Great for families too.

Helpful?
Thank 4pojkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jalapenos Central also viewed

Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
 
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Jalapenos Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing