We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally unexpected.”
Review of Jalapenos Central

Jalapenos Central
Ranked #1 of 186 Restaurants in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $9
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Open 7 days a week. Mon- sat 11:30-9:00 pm Sun 11:30-8:00 pm Accept credit cards except American express
Corozal Town, Belize
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Totally unexpected.”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The food is totally unexpected! I have been here several times and like to try different options from the menu.The burritos are awesome. The service is great as well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kyn2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    489
    158
    45
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Hot stuff”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Burrito or zoupa Azteca are great. Always congenial staff. Hot sauce is served on the side. Beers or margaritas available. Desserts include pecan pie or cakes.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank S1ack23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lunch, dinner, nice local place w Good Mexican food”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Service good. Beer cold. Mex food consistently good. Local foreign population hot spot Patacones original. Burritos good. Owner has well trained, loyal staff.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grecia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
142 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great TexMex food”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Possibly the Best Tex-Mex food I have had anywhere and the very best in Costa Rica. Greeted by Norman,the owner (unless he is in the kitchen), and his great well trained staff.

There is a great variety here, making my selections difficult, but I have never had a meal that I did not like. I cannot tell you about the deserts because I never have room to try them. Norman's restaurant every chance we get.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RedheadinCr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Tex-Mex in Costa Rica”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

The food here was amazing. I had the veggie tacos and my friend had the tortilla soup. We also split some fried yucca. Everything was delicious and we were stuffed, but when they brought the dessert tray around we couldn't resist. I got a slice of the best carrot cake I've ever had and my friend got the passion fruit flan (I think). She said it was also delicious, but I was too in love with my carrot cake to try hers. If you're in the area, I highly recommend having a meal (or more) here.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kaitlyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jalapenos Central also viewed

Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
 
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
 
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Jalapenos Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing