We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miguel was amazing!”
Review of Jalapenos Central

Jalapenos Central
Ranked #1 of 186 Restaurants in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $9
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Open 7 days a week. Mon- sat 11:30-9:00 pm Sun 11:30-8:00 pm Accept credit cards except American express
Newcastle, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Miguel was amazing!”
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

We came in for dinner here on our last night in Costa Rica. What a way to top an amazing trip off. The food was delicious and the service was incredible. Both Miguel and the other young gentleman were fantastic and really made the experience that much more special. Thank you!

Helpful?
Thank Dina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    489
    158
    45
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

After 10 days of casados and other Costa-Rican food it was great to find a place with good Mexican cuisine. Our son, usually a picky eater not very fond of beans, eagerly finished his portion. Excellent service, fast and efficient.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eugene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
112 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“The only place in Costa Rica that has outstanding food and service 100% of the time.”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We eat at Norm’s at least twice a month and have for the last 10 years. I have never had anything that wasn’t outstanding. He uses only the freshest and best ingredients that he can get. There is a reason that he is always busy: it is because everyone here knows that his is the best Tex-Mex in Costa Rica and would probably give most places in The States a run for their money. Is it out of place? If it is, there are a lot of us gringos that crave good Mexican food that are thankful that he is here and over the years he has built up a huge Tico clientele. By the way, I had my favorite chimichanga today and as always it was delicious, very flavorful and not in the least bit soggy. My husband wasn’t terribly hungry so Norm fixed an ‘off the menu plate’ just for him.
I never hesitate to recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants outstanding food and the home touch. I know that they will never be disappointed and I will never be sorry for sending them there.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crafterincr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grecia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Still the Best”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

It is always a pleasure to see you and your staff and the food is still the best. It is worth driving 45 minutes.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ingo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great vegetarian dinner”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Traveled with a group of 4 vegetarians and they had plenty of options and were very accommodating. Great food and service - we ate early so it wasn't busy at all.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jalapenos Central also viewed

Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
 
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Jalapenos Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing