We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite restaurant in Costa Rica”
Review of Jalapenos Central

Jalapenos Central
Ranked #1 of 186 Restaurants in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $9
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Open 7 days a week. Mon- sat 11:30-9:00 pm Sun 11:30-8:00 pm Accept credit cards except American express
Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant in Costa Rica”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Great place, great food, OUTSTANDING host. Norman, the owner of Jalapeno's, is the reason the restaurant is so good and the best feature of the place. We finally moved to Costa Rica after eight years of visits, and this is our favorite restaurant by far.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Van T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    489
    158
    45
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service, Homemade Fresh Food... AWESOME!”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

When we drove up to Jalapeño Central we were happy to see it is a 'mom and pop' restaurant and not a huge place....about 7 or 8 small tables....it is cozy, funky and overall our kind of place. We both ordered the beef enchiladas as a complete dinner which comes with refried beans, guacamole, rice and pico de gallo....ALL was very fresh tasty and homemade...no canned or bottled stuff here.....then the waiter brought a small wooden bowl with excellent homemade hot sauce...after 20 years in costa rica eating mostly bland and uninspired food, we were PSYCHED (I was especially happy to see the homemade hot sauce...very tasty and spicy!). The owner, Norman and his staff were very friendly and genuine...no B.S. smiles...they are the real deal!! And all of this for a very reasonable price (about $20 total including a beer and a glass of cas, a natural fruit drink made from fruit grown here in costa rica). BTW, we ate the pecan pie and a nut chocolate tort, both made with, yes i'll say it again, fresh and homemade ingredients. If you're ever in Costa Rica and anywhere near Alajuela, you MUST go get some Tex-Mex at Norman's restaurant! We loved it! Thanks Norman!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Or
Level Contributor
166 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“American Style Mexican Food In San Jose”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

As the title says this is not Costa Rican food - it's Mexican. Small and cozy - quality - average, portion sizes modest, service good. Pretty good value. Ambiance - feh.....the owner spent the entire time basically yelling across the room conversing with other guests at other tables. While I appreciated the friendliness, we were anxious to finish out food and leave to get away from the very loud noise of his voice and the folks he was talking to.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fiddle_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This restaurant has the "whole enchilada" ( I know, bad pun) with its really tasty tex-mex food, great owner and staff, and fun, informal decor. We went there on a recommendation from an employee at our hotel (1915 Hotel, which is a charming place) and the restaurant's location was very convenient -- only a couple blocks away by foot. We liked the food and the personable owner so much that we went back again the next night for dinner... and it was just as good the second time around!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Adkmthiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing place. An absolute must visit!!!”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Don't let the size of this place fool you. The owner Norman is a great guy with fantastic staff, and oh yeah - the food is incredible. Flavourful, reasonably priced, and a great atmosphere. Fantastic margaritas. Will definitely be back next time I'm in Costa Rica!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jalapenos Central also viewed

Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
 
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
 
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Jalapenos Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing