We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alajuela spice”
Review of Jalapenos Central

Jalapenos Central
Ranked #1 of 186 Restaurants in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $9
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Open 7 days a week. Mon- sat 11:30-9:00 pm Sun 11:30-8:00 pm Accept credit cards except American express
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Alajuela spice”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We went here at the beginning and end of our trip for the Tortilla soup! It is fantastic. The magarita's are a descent price and tasty. The burritos were okay. Location is good since it is center city. Service was average on both trips which seems to be pretty typical of Costa Rica.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wplacrosse26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    489
    158
    45
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Letdown”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This was my second time going to Jalapenos. I recall the first time was good. This time I ordered the fajitas (steak) and it was ......completely lackluster. The steak was very tough. Perhaps I ordered the wrong dish? Would not recommend the fajitas. A bit of a chore to eat and not that cheap. All in all, I don't think I'll be going back. Not super easy to find, just ask the locals where the post office is and you will stumble upon the restaurant.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank voodoo-d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman f, Owner at Jalapenos Central, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
I truly apologize for your fajitas. We have been having trouble with our butcher, where one day he is on the money another day way off. Please accept my apologies and come by for a full meal on me. The works!!!! appetizer, please try our burritos!!!! dessert and beer or margarita. Next time when you feel uncomfortable in any way just tell me please We´ll make good everytime!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food, great people”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My sister and I came here on our way out of Costa Rica. As two vegetarians and southern Californians (I'm from San Diego) our options can be a bit limited. We're both a bit spoiled when it comes to Mexican food also since we have easy access to great stuff at home. The food was soo good!! We got nachos, vegetarian burrito and a cheese enchilada. They were all really good and they had some really tasty hot sauce. As in the other posts, the owner made a point to chat with each table to make sure they were satisfied. I'd come back in a heartbeat. A must-eat in San Jose!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim110584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Awesome Mexican Food!”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This was an awesome place for dinner and definitely reasonably priced. Mary, from adventure inn sent us here and it was worth it! A little confusing getting there at first but once we made it, we were super happy we did! I had the naches supreme and my boyfriend had the burrito, we each had a drink, shared dessert and it came to about $20 with the tip. I would definitely recommend this place if it were in my neighborhood, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone hoping to find a Mexican fix in Costa Rica!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrendaJaneHasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drake bay, osa penninsula, costa rica
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, good people”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This tex-mex restaurant has great food. The atmosphere is fun with lots of conversation, and the owner, Norman, is a great conversationalist.

The portions and prices are right.

I would highly recommend you stop here and fill your belly!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank casitacorcovado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jalapenos Central also viewed

Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
 
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Jalapenos Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing