We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“nice hostel in the city center” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cortez Azul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Cortez Azul
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“nice hostel in the city center”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Nice hostel. Charming service.
The place is very safe and close to excellent local restaurant, but a little expensive, which belongs to the same owner.
Cheap hostel prices include simple room with shower is very simple.
There is also a very simple breakfast. It is recommended to eat carefully.
There is a kitchenette for guests and TV room.
Suitable for those looking for a simple place, cheap and nice.

Room Tip: check that there is hot water in your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ytzahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    24
    31
    16
    14
See reviews for
5
56
34
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

The owner recommends you to go to his restaurant nearby but it's crap food.
It was the noisiest place I have EVER stayed in all my trips! Even with earplugs I was woken up multiple times during the night.
The bathroom smelled like sewage and there was no toilet paper.
It was the worst place I stayed in Costa Rica by far!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank letibevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alajuela hotels

sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Very relaxing place with a nice patio and outdoor kitchen. The father and son who run the hotel are so friendly and helpful. The gate to the hotel is always locked so you feel totally safe. The only drawback is that the house is sort of falling apart, they really need a carpenter to fix all the broken parts...But it still feels like a home away from home!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SwedenFamilytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

It is a nice hostel with an open air communitity kitchen and a small garden.
We liked the room and the staff.
There is only one bathroom so that you have to wait sometimes.
The hostel is located very close to everything you need.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

I know you can get better accommodation than this near the airport for the same $35 price--at Vida Tropical. First, the positive: Marc at reception (the owner's son) was great--very helpful. I had a private room with a strange little bathroom arrangement--the sink was in the shower! Bed was OK and room seemed clean. I certainly wouldn't want to spend more than one night here. Breakfast was below par. Guests were left to fend for themselves with a bread, jam, bananas and not very good coffee.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deepfreezeresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

we stay there the 1st and last night in Costa Rica; very close to the airport ( 5 USD for taxi ride!!), close to the centre, the owner will bring you to eat or drink something in Monteleone restaurant just accross the corner. The hostel is clean and simple, the problem is that's very noisy, if you have problems to sleep with noises at every hour of day and night don't stay there

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank balzarasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

I realized I was booking a hostel for our first night in CR but the glowing reviews on TA just don't match up to our experience.

The room was very clean. That was great.
The staff were very nice. That was great.

The biggest problem: the rooms didn't have walls that go to the ceiling so we listened to the TV in the lobby until 1am and then it started again at 5am. No sleep after a long flight doesn't make for a good start.

The backyard is cute but the kitchen was pretty filthy.

There seemed to be a lot of long-term tenants living in the hostel. It felt a little unsafe. Two or three drunk guys wandering around all the time.

Even though we were told we could pay with CC and they have stickers in the window, we had to pay cash which wouldn't be a big deal except that the cash machines weren't working for 12 hours.....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jomuise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
3.2 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.0 mi away
1915 Hotel
1915 Hotel
#12 of 30 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mi Tierra
Hotel Mi Tierra
#20 of 30 in Alajuela
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eskalima
Hotel Eskalima
#15 of 30 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo
#22 of 30 in Alajuela
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cortez Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cortez Azul

Property: Hotel Cortez Azul
Address: Avenue 5, between Calle 2 and 4, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cortez Azul 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To fly in and out of Costa Rica for convenience may need to stay near an airport and the Juan Santamaria in Alajuela. The hotel is conveniently located Cortez Azul near the most important airport in Costa Rica. Alajuela is located only 2 km away and about 5 minutes from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Cortez Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cortez Azul Hotel Alajuela
Hotel Cortez Azul Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing