We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Friendly staff, secure, close to airport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cortez Azul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cortez Azul to your Saves list
Hotel Cortez Azul
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Avenue 5, between Calle 2 and 4, Alajuela ., Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, secure, close to airport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

A good low priced option for your first and last nights in Costa Rica. They have private rooms with bath, private rooms with shared baths, and dorms. Includes coffee and bread in morning in their enclosed backyard garden. There is a kitchen you can use and low-priced drinks can be purchased. Computer with internet access and wifi are available. There is a secure front open air patio with table and chairs and an interior living room with couches and large screen tv for all guests to enjoy.

It is a short walk to anything you need and Alajuela's central park. Restaurants across street and nearby with a wide price range and good food. Big used bookstore across the street. Police station is right around the corner. Hotel Cortez Azul is only a couple blocks from the central bus station where there is a steady stream of buses to and from San Jose.

Alajuela is a big, busy town that is lower cost than other areas with the problems that come from economic distress so you should also be careful there. It is not a place to just wander around at night but is a good place to stock up on things you anticipate needing/wanting like sun lotion, food, or alcohol.

Alajuela is also a good base site to visit the Poas volcano and coffee plantations.

A short drive from the airport, the taxi costs ~$6. Official airport taxi drivers know where it is and of course the Alajuela taxi drivers know how to get to the airport! They are driving by all the time, or ask Ramon and he will schedule a pick up at the time you need.

Ramon, the owner, and his staff are genuinely helpful and kind.

There are plenty of upscale, expensive options near the airport, it is more difficult to find lower cost, clean, and reliable places to stay. Hotel Cortez Azul fits that niche nicely.

Room Tip: Farther away from the front door is good because people are coming and going at all hours to and fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank choroni03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    23
    29
    16
    12
See reviews for
5
54
34
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We have stayed here three times and can thoroughly recommend it as a superior establishment. The owner, Ramon, is one of the friendliest and most helpful people you could meet. The entire place is clean and has beautiful art and gardens. It is well situated with a great restaurant within a 2 minute walk (Monteleone). An excellent hotel- we hope you enjoy it as much as we have!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahnMattAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Cortez Azul is a cool hostel, lots of neat art on the walls. The staff are all friendly and helpful, they can help organize some fun daytrips around the San Jose area. The kitchen is well equipped and the rooms are good, small, but good. There is really lots of character. It is close to everything: shops, banks, restaurants, safer than in San Jose too. Close to the airport, only 5 min. Good hostel. www.CortezAzul.com

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daniellegallant5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
120 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We had a room with private bath. Everything was quite shabby. The property is not well maintained and starts pretty much falling apart. Should I mention we were not even given towels?
The room was very basic - tiles on a floor, one queen size bed and a bunker bed (the board of which pretty much cracked in two) right above our heads (!).
Bathroom had an electric shower.
Hotel has a kitchen that can be used and a small poorly maintained backyard.
My advise - pay 5 dollars more and stay at the hotel Pacande which is right next door to it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krolikv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

We stayed at Cortez Azul for 4 nights. It is a perfect base for day trips to San Jose and some volcanos. It is 5 minutes by taxi from San Jose airport. Prices are cheap and rooms are spotless. The open air community kitchen is a place to get together and relax. There are art pieces, paintings and sculptures all over the hotel, which contributes to the cosy and familiar atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander_Julan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

I actually planned to spend just one night in this hostel because I wanted to avoid San José after a long and exhausting bus trip back from Panama. Then I discovered how close Alajuela is to Volcán Poás which is definitely worth visiting. Cortez Azul is run by Eduardo who is much into art. The whole place looks like a gallery. The host is very helpful. He showed me two colorfully painted rooms: The first one was very nice, but windowless; the one I chose was brighter but quite basic. It had a queen size bed with a slightly damaged loft bed above it. There was no wardrobe, chair, table etc. in the room and the bathroom was functional but tiny. What bothered me was that the window (a small one almost touching the ceiling) had ben broken and at the time of my stay the missing window pane had not yet been replaced. I could therefore hear every single word people spoke in the open air kitchen and in the garden. The hostel has no free WiFi, but if you are lucky enough to reach one of the neighbours' unlocked one, you can use your computer in the front of the house. The best about Cortez Azul is the kitchen on the back patio and the little garden with tables and chairs where you can prepare your breakfast (coffee is free) or just sit and meet other travellers.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank topautorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

The Hotel Cortez Azul is a fantastic base to work in some day trips while visiting the interior of Costa Rica. The owner, Eduardo has a fantastic personality that will inspire you to get out and explore your surroundings. Take time to look at his amazing art and explore the surrounding neighborhood. Rooms are extremely clean and the back yard kitchen area is a relaxing spot to enjoy a meal. Don't pass this one up.

Julie

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sweetbeegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.2 mi away
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo
#23 of 30 in Alajuela
3.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mi Tierra
Hotel Mi Tierra
#20 of 30 in Alajuela
3.5 of 5 stars 151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eskalima
Hotel Eskalima
#13 of 30 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 stars 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#26 of 83 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
1.6 mi away
Villa Pacande Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cortez Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cortez Azul

Property: Hotel Cortez Azul
Address: Avenue 5, between Calle 2 and 4, Alajuela ., Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cortez Azul 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To fly in and out of Costa Rica for convenience may need to stay near an airport and the Juan Santamaria in Alajuela. The hotel is conveniently located Cortez Azul near the most important airport in Costa Rica. Alajuela is located only 2 km away and about 5 minutes from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Cortez Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cortez Azul Hotel Alajuela
Hotel Cortez Azul Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing