We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Nothing in particular” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cortez Azul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Cortez Azul
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
125 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Nothing in particular”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We had a room with private bath. Everything was quite shabby. The property is not well maintained and starts pretty much falling apart. Should I mention we were not even given towels?
The room was very basic - tiles on a floor, one queen size bed and a bunker bed (the board of which pretty much cracked in two) right above our heads (!).
Bathroom had an electric shower.
Hotel has a kitchen that can be used and a small poorly maintained backyard.
My advise - pay 5 dollars more and stay at the hotel Pacande which is right next door to it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krolikv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    23
    29
    16
    14
See reviews for
5
55
34
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

We stayed at Cortez Azul for 4 nights. It is a perfect base for day trips to San Jose and some volcanos. It is 5 minutes by taxi from San Jose airport. Prices are cheap and rooms are spotless. The open air community kitchen is a place to get together and relax. There are art pieces, paintings and sculptures all over the hotel, which contributes to the cosy and familiar atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander_Julan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

I actually planned to spend just one night in this hostel because I wanted to avoid San José after a long and exhausting bus trip back from Panama. Then I discovered how close Alajuela is to Volcán Poás which is definitely worth visiting. Cortez Azul is run by Eduardo who is much into art. The whole place looks like a gallery. The host is very helpful. He showed me two colorfully painted rooms: The first one was very nice, but windowless; the one I chose was brighter but quite basic. It had a queen size bed with a slightly damaged loft bed above it. There was no wardrobe, chair, table etc. in the room and the bathroom was functional but tiny. What bothered me was that the window (a small one almost touching the ceiling) had ben broken and at the time of my stay the missing window pane had not yet been replaced. I could therefore hear every single word people spoke in the open air kitchen and in the garden. The hostel has no free WiFi, but if you are lucky enough to reach one of the neighbours' unlocked one, you can use your computer in the front of the house. The best about Cortez Azul is the kitchen on the back patio and the little garden with tables and chairs where you can prepare your breakfast (coffee is free) or just sit and meet other travellers.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank topautorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

The Hotel Cortez Azul is a fantastic base to work in some day trips while visiting the interior of Costa Rica. The owner, Eduardo has a fantastic personality that will inspire you to get out and explore your surroundings. Take time to look at his amazing art and explore the surrounding neighborhood. Rooms are extremely clean and the back yard kitchen area is a relaxing spot to enjoy a meal. Don't pass this one up.

Julie

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sweetbeegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2010

This place is very recomendable due to it's location close to San Jose's airport. About 10 minutes in taxi to get there and back. the place is clean, the owner a nice young local guy, which seems to be pretty much into arts. the rooms are nice made, not the typical bulb and a bed style, and there's an outdoor kitchen if you wanna cook for youself.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patadeperro73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

Very nice and clean hotel, with amazing artist. It was secure, the owner Edwardo was extremely friendly.
There is a kitchen on the back patio, with tables and an adorable little garden.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank toniwanknobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mi Tierra
Hotel Mi Tierra
#20 of 30 in Alajuela
3.5 of 5 stars 153 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
1.2 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
1915 Hotel
1915 Hotel
#12 of 30 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 stars 93 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eskalima
Hotel Eskalima
#15 of 30 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Pacande Bed & Breakfast
Villa Pacande Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 4 in Poas Volcano National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cortez Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cortez Azul

Property: Hotel Cortez Azul
Address: Avenue 5, between Calle 2 and 4, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cortez Azul 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To fly in and out of Costa Rica for convenience may need to stay near an airport and the Juan Santamaria in Alajuela. The hotel is conveniently located Cortez Azul near the most important airport in Costa Rica. Alajuela is located only 2 km away and about 5 minutes from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Cortez Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cortez Azul Hotel Alajuela
Hotel Cortez Azul Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing