We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“all around perfect place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alajuela
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alegria Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 58 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Brattleboro, Vermont
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“all around perfect place to stay”
Reviewed January 22, 2011

A great place to stay, close to the airport, with beautiful accommodation and a wonderful host. You feel at home from the minute you arrive and George, the owner, is very knowledgeable about the area and things to do and see in Costa Rica. He happily will pick you up at the airport and bring you back there to meet flights which is a rare service these days. The rooms are perfect and the whole house is decorated with loving care. If you are in this area, check this place out first!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfindlay22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    27
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
39
162
13
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2011

Iplanned on writing this review when i hot back home but had internet connection and couldnt wait- we landed at night- George picked us up- the room and bath were spotless clean, we had the most simple room and it was spacious and nice- amazing garden, the BEST breakfest - everything was just perfect and George is such a friendly host which makes this whole stay even more than perfect!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sigsigm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming, MN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2011

Since we had an early flight out of SJO, we needed to spend the night near the airport. The reviews for Alegria were amazing so we decided to try it out. The reviews are all accurate, this is a GREAT place to stay! George was so welcoming, helping us confirm flights, recommending a great local place to eat a short walk away (and giving us a map to be sure we found it). He also got up at 4am to wake us up and to make sure we had coffee, and a nice breakfast (fresh fruit, yummy banana bread) before we left for the airport. He gave us a ride to the airport too! We rented all three rooms and they were all very clean and beautiful. The only comment is more of an FYI than an issue, George wants payment in cash, this was not a problem, but thought we would mention it for anyone that would need to know this. The cost to rent the whole house was so reasonable! We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNNellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed January 18, 2011

My partner and I stayed with George our first night in Costa Rica before catching a bus the next day to the Caribbean Coast. When we first arrived at the airport, my partner and I were talking to a cab driver when we were surprised to see that George was waiting for us to take us back to his B&B.

Once arriving at Alegria, he made is feel very welcome and at home. We were provided with great information for dining near by and a lot of insight about traveling in Costa Rica.

In the morning, he drove us to catch our bus, and although we could not have breakfast with him (which we read many great reviews about) he packed us a great lunch!

After this experience, we booked 2 more nights with him - one night between traveling from the Caribbean Coast to the Pacific, and then one night before leaving Costa Rica via the San Jose Airport.

This B&B has an amazing host, the place is beautiful, clean, and very comfortable. The showers are perfect (they get hot, and have great pressure!) and the breakfasts are delicious (home baked goods, fresh fruit, eggs, juice, coffee - the works!).

I could not have asked for a better home base during our stay in Costa Rica. We met several travelers on the way that we recommended this B&B to and they all had similar experiences.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank callennd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2011

This was a great place to start and finish our trip to Costa Rica. George was extremely welcoming. The rooms were lovely and spacious and very comfortable. Our breakfast at the start of our trip was fresh and delicious. We had an early flight at the end of our trip and George packed us a breakfast to go and dropped us at the airport. This place is exceptional value for money.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerCatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2011

This is a nice place to stay. It was clean, I slept great. The breakfast was yummy. George is really nice and went out of his way for me. I would love to go back!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashaloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2011

George the owner is great. Very responsive and reliable, when our taxi driver got lost we called George's cell for directions. I had to leave at 6am for my flight (only a 5 min cab ride) and george made me a sandwhich. Amazing service for any price. George really makes tou feel at home right away. Direct tv was a nice touch. Happens to be a great deal as well. Make sure to write down directions and georges phone beforehand since it's hard to find.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob11248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
658 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vida Tropical B and B
Vida Tropical B and B
#8 of 58 in Alajuela
254 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.0 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alegria Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alegria Bed and Breakfast

Property: Alegria Bed and Breakfast
Address: Pueblo Nuevo de Alajuela, Residential Alajuela, segundo entrada, 200 metro norte, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alegria is a true Bed and Breakfast with guest rooms in our family home. We are only minutes from the San Jose International airport, convenient for your arrival and departure days. Enjoy the best of Southern Hospitality in a classic Spanish home with precious wood ceilings, hand-carved doors and welcoming porches. We are located in a friendly, secure neighborhood of professional Tico and international families. Convenient shopping and bus service are just steps away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alegria Hotel Alajuela
Alegria b&b
Alegria Bed And Breakfast Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing