We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like visiting family in Alajuela”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alajuela
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alegria Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 63 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This was our third time staying with George at the beautiful Alegria B &B. It is the perfect place to start and end your adventure in Costa Rica. George provides a fantastic service of picking you up at the airport, great to see a friendly face among the sea of taxi drivers vying for your attention. Alegria is only 5 minutes from the international airport and is very convenient for those early morning flights back to the States. George is a wonderful host and makes delicious breakfasts. He will pack a breakfast for you to go if you have an early morning flight. His house is beautiful, has wifi, and plenty of hot water. He is so helpful and knowledgeable about the area and restaurants and will call a taxi for you for your flight back home, the taxi stand is very close to his house so they will be there within minutes of him calling them. We plan to stay with George at Alegria Bed and Breakfast every time we come to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vhuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 266 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed here two nights upon arriving in Costa Rica in mid-January. George met us at the airport, despite the fact that our plane was hours late and it was the middle of the night, and graciously took us to his lovely home and helped us get settled in. The breakfasts were lovely, with an assortment of fruit, good eggs, muffins, fruit juice, etc. The room was spacious, spotlessly clean, hot and cold water, and a toilet linked to a sewer (NOT that common in Costa Rica). George arranged for a friend of his, Luis, who is a bilingual taxi driver, to spent a day taking us around to sites like the Doka coffee plantation and Poas Volcano -- it was a marvelous time. I would return to this charming home 100 times out of 100.

Room Tip: They're all lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MTnative46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

George was a wonderful host. He was so kind, understanding and helpful. We went for one night and stayed for two. On our first arrival we were tired,late and lost and he had someone outside watching for us in the dark. He is located in a nice residential area where you felt safe. Breakfast was wonderful. Hummingbird watching on the front porch was a lovely addition to our stay. George accommodated us in every way possible and didn't make a big deal about it. Yes, George, I hope to return. Thank you for all you did. And I hope your Thanksgiving Dinner went well! Sandy

Room Tip: Let George choose! He'll do fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

My fiancé and I stayed here toward the end of December and we loved it. The host, George, is extremely kind and easygoing. He picked us up from the airport when we arrived, called us a taxi when we left, and even sent us off with a hot breakfast! (I can't eat gluten and he even found something I could eat!). The rooms are immaculate, comfortable, and quiet. We slept so well and were truly grateful to find such an oasis in Alajuela. George gave us great recommendations for food around town. We wholeheartedly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mindy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

If you're looking for an easy, relaxing start to your Costa Rican holiday then you can't go wrong staying here. George was at the airport with a sign picking us up and then up early making us a delicious breakfast. A nice quiet part off town that felt very safe. Large room, good shower and even little hummingbirds outside as you have breakfast. George is lovely, welcoming, relaxed and does a mean breakfast. Thank you!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amanda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed at Alegria B&B again for my first night in Costa Rica. Great place just outside of Alajuela away from traffic noise just a 10-15 minute taxi ride to airport.
I enjoy sitting on the front porch watching the friendly neighbors walk by. Some even wish me a good day/afternoon.
Walking distance to grocery store and restaurant. Local bus stop is around the corner and taxis are parked nearby and get to Alegria B&B quickly.
Good coffee and breakfast too!

Room Tip: There are four rooms to choose from in this former private residence. The two big rooms have bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noclock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Three of us stayed at the Alegria during our trip to Costa Rica in November, 2013. George was more than accommodating. He picked us up at the airport, provided helpful information about the country,and served us a wonderful breakfast in the morning before we left for our destination. The house is beautiful. The rooms were well appointed and very comfortable. We spent the night before our return flight at the Alegria as well. George got up (very!) early to get us to the airport on time and made sure we'd have something healthy to eat. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Las Flores has an ensuite bath and a very comfortable queen sized bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.0 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#1 of 1 in Pilas
696 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
0.0 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alegria Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alegria Bed and Breakfast

Address: | Residencial Alajuela, Pueblo Nuevo Apartado, Alajuela 1901-4050, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range: $50 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alegria is a true Bed and Breakfast with guest rooms in our family home. We are only minutes from the San Jose International airport, convenient for your arrival and departure days. Enjoy the best of Southern Hospitality in a classic Spanish home with precious wood ceilings, hand-carved doors and welcoming porches. We are located in a friendly, secure neighborhood of professional Tico and international families. Convenient shopping and bus service are just steps away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alegria b&b
Alegria Hotel Alajuela
Alegria Bed And Breakfast Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing