We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect first or last day in Costa Rica!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alegria Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alajuela
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alegria Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Alegria Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Ranked #4 of 57 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect first or last day in Costa Rica!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We really appreciated George's warm welcome in his house in Alajuela. Room was very clean, quiet and big.
The breakfast that George prepared was delicious: fresh fruits, coffee, homemade muffins and donuts!
it's a good feeling to be in a safe place (our rental car slept behind the closed gate), with a great host. i would definitely come back!

The place is not that easy to find, Costa Rica does not use street address so we used the GPS location provided on the website but it did not work out for us. We did find the place after all.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KevMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    27
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
39
161
13
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I will most definitely be back to Costa Rica and with out doubt- George's b & b! What a great place to call home for a couple days. Wonderful person, beautiful home and all for an unbeatable price for what is offered... private washroom, comfy bed, and breaky?And truly the best breakfast I've had in ages: coconut and mango muffins, fresh fruit, juice, coffee, turkey breakfast sandwich.... It was delish!! I would highly recommend staying here; and I will be telling my friends!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GypsyJaxxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Alegria Bed and Breakfast was so AMAZING and such a delightful place to stay in. My cousin and I went to Costa Rica for my birthday and we stayed at Alegria Bed and Breakfast for 2 nights, first night and the last night of our trip. Mr. George the owner was so sweet, so friendly and so personable. He was there to pick me up the airport and tell me about Costa Rica and then he had a driver to for me the next morning, his friend Mr. Luis to go to the airport and pick up my cousin. Mr. Luis was GREAT and he took us to our next destination and showed us some amazing places in Costa Rica.
The breakfast was the best breakfast I have ever had in a bed and breakfast. It was fresh, so yummy and tasty! Mr. George fresh fruits, eggs, blueberry muffins and you have to try his banana walnut cake OH WOW soooo delicious. If you are looking a great place to stay I definitely recommend Alegira bed and breakfast, the sheets/ towels are white so you know they are clean. We had our own bathroom across the hallway which had good pressure and hot water which you will want in the mountains! All in all, a great stay with a very hospitable and generous host. We will be back on our next trip to Costa Rica and stay in Alegria for sure!!! Thank you Mr. George and Luis for everything!

Room Tip: The rooms are great with private bathroom, with sheets/ towels are white so you know they are clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmIee2300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
131 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

George, the owner, will make sure you have the best stay in Alajuela as possible.

Upon arrival George was very friendly and told us that his house is our house. You can use anything in the house and there is lots of common areas to hang out. He has a desk with heaps of information about Costa Rica. George makes muffins in the early morning so you wake to the smell of freshly baked goods which is heaven. The breakfast was one of the best I have had in a B&B. We had lots of fruit, muffins, and a veggie omelet. George is very good if you have food allergies as well. He made my boyfriend dairy free muffins!

We stayed in the palmas room. The sheets/ towels are white so you know they are clean. We had our own bathroom across the hallway which had good pressure and hot water which you will want in the mountains! Wifi works very well everywhere.

The location is only a 20 minute walk to downtown. This assures you will have a great, quite night of sleep. Within a couple minutes there is a pizza shop and small market to pick up anything you may need. The taxi is only 5-10 mins depending on traffic. Make sure you have 3500 to pay for the taxi if there is traffic.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 07Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at Alegria B&B on the first and last nights of our two weeks stay in Costa Rica. We arrived on a late flight and George was there at the airport to meet us. He took care of arranging a car rental to be delivered to the B&B the next morning (and the car picked up at the end of the trip). The B&B is located in a quiet residential area about 20 minutes walk from the center of Alajuela, an easy and safe walk into town. The room was clean and spacious, the bed was comfortable, and the breakfast was great. On the day we left, George was up early helping out other guests with their 5 AM pickup, and he packed up a breakfast up for us and drove us to the airport before 6 AM. All in all, a great stay with a very hospitable and generous host. We will be back on our next trip to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fh953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge District Municipality, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I am able to highly recommend Alegria bed and breakfast as being a comfortable and convenient place to stay when visiting Costa Rica. It is close the airport for arrivals and early flights out. George is an amazing host who will make you feel at home right away. And he prepares "hands down" the best breakfasts to start your day. The rooms are very nice and the atmosphere is relaxing. George is willing and able to offer travel advise, share stories, and arrange transportation as needed. We spent 2 weeks in the country and used Alegria as our home base.
Thanks George, until next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This place is great, and although the house is beautiful and comfortable, it's George that really makes the experience stand out. I won't even consider staying anywhere else in Alajuela from now on. I've never had a B&B host that opened up their home to guests the way George does and he does it in a way that makes you totally comfortable. My daughter and I only stayed one night, but by the time we left the next day it was like we'd known him for ages. And he is a great cook - breakfast was wonderful. I would give this place 6's if I could.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EastCoastHippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#7 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 569 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tacacori EcoLodge
Tacacori EcoLodge
#5 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 335 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Pacande Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Pura Vida Hotel
Pura Vida Hotel
#1 of 57 in Alajuela
5.0 of 5 stars 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alegria Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alegria Bed and Breakfast

Property: Alegria Bed and Breakfast
Address: Pueblo Nuevo de Alajuela, Residential Alajuela, segundo entrada, 200 metro norte, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alegria is a true Bed and Breakfast with guest rooms in our family home. We are only minutes from the San Jose International airport, convenient for your arrival and departure days. Enjoy the best of Southern Hospitality in a classic Spanish home with precious wood ceilings, hand-carved doors and welcoming porches. We are located in a friendly, secure neighborhood of professional Tico and international families. Convenient shopping and bus service are just steps away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alegria b&b
Alegria Hotel Alajuela
Alegria Bed And Breakfast Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing