We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alegria Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alajuela
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alegria Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Alegria Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Ranked #5 of 56 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southern California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

George was a great host. We felt like we were at home. Breakfast was great. George was always there when we needed him; even at 4 am departures to the airport!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aeschief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    27
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
39
161
13
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

This place is awesome for anyone spending his first or last light in Costa Rica and flying from San Jose airport. The house is really nice and the USA native host, George, knows how to make yourself at home. He gave us good advices for our short time in Alajuela and for our trip in general. The house is big and very clean. In the morning, he came up with this big plate of fruits and a slice of banana bread which was delicious! We will definitely go back there every time we come to Costa Rica. 
The house is located on a corner and look for the Alegria sign at the bottom of the fence. It is a little hard to find but it really really worth it!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrWebb007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Alegria our first and last night in CR. It was very convenient to the airport (about 10 minutes and $5-8), very clean, relaxing and George was a great and friendly host. There was wi-fi, plenty of space to relax in the house with two separate lounge areas and access to the kitchen if needed. We had to get up very early both times we were there and George packed us a to-go breakfast (including his amazing banana bread) and made sure that we were up on time. It is about a 15 minute walk into town or a $2 taxi ride if you want to get something to eat. When George calls a taxi, they were always there in less than 2 minutes! If you're heading in or out of CR, this is the perfect place and price and much more fun than staying at an expensive chain hotel next to the airport. Thanks George!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Palm room. It was plenty of space with a bathroom just across the hall. The other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderWasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We had email communication back and forth and George arranged for two nights stay, one at the beginning of our trip March 25th and the last night before leaving at the end of our trip on April 4th. Alajuela was close to the airport and very convenient location. George had also arranged for our car rental in advance with Tri color, it was good that I emailed closer to the date because he hadn’t made the reservation until I reconfirmed with him. Also know in advance he would like cash to pay for your stay, so be prepared.
George had graciously picked us up at the airport when we had arrived which we appreciated very much. The accommodations were clean the town of Alajuela was about a 15 minute walk from Georges, We had grabbed a bite to eat where he had suggested and it was good local food. When we came back for the evening we were having difficulties connecting to the internet with our phone and I had asked if we could use the internet and he seemed very put out by having to get his lap top set up. He seemed to be on and off with his mood...I am not sure if he had alot on his mind, but we did know his wife had passed away sometime back and this could have been part of the reason.
He did fix us a very nice breakfast before we headed out on the road. We had asked for the rental to be automatic, turned out he rented manual seeing it was all he could get for us due to the late reservation (near the Holy week and all) He set up our pick up time for 10:00 am the next morning, which was a little later then we would have preferred, but it all worked out. We were able to trade up to automatic and we were on the road by early afternoon (took a while for the reservations) and we made it to our destination before night fall.
On our return trip back we weren’t sure how long the drive would take from Quepos , when we arrived at noon and George seemed put out again that we arrived earlier then he expected. We wanted to park the car in his locked patio and he was very disgruntled by this request. He did double check his reservations and had no one else coming in that day so he seemed to relax after this. He did check our flights for us and saw that things were on time. We kept the rental until the morning we flew out and that seemed easiest. George had made us muffins (burnt) to go…
On our next trip to Costa Rica we will look elsewhere for accomodations..I was a little uncomfortable with George's mood swings.

Room Tip: Have cash to pay for your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We recently stayed at Alegira Bed and Breakfast for one night en route to our departure from Costa Rica the following morning. George was a perfect host - very laid back and accommodating. Because we were there on a holiday, cabs were hard to come by, so he gave us rides where we needed to go. His house is really cool - beautiful wood ceilings and doors, very clean. He gave us a large room and made up a separate bed for our 3-year-old. He made sure we were up by 4:15 a.m. and gave us coffee and muffins for the road before he took us to the airport. I plan to stay here again the next time we're in Costa Rica.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank BCB373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Our second stay with George. George is a great host, has a nice clean B&B and makes a great breakfast. The B&B is close to the San Jose airport so it makes a nice start and finish point for your trip to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrhill01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

George's relaxed hospitality is beyond comparison. When you need him, he is there. When you need some time for yourself in the garden or inside, you just have it.
First, we stayed only overnight when arriving in San jose. But then we spent another two days there just chilling before flying out. And George is really a good and inventive cook! We have been the first to try new kind of muffins (fluffy blackberry muffins), wowhh!

Thanks a lot and see you again

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#7 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 590 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.0 mi away
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo
#23 of 30 in Alajuela
3.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Pacande Bed & Breakfast
Villa Pacande Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 4 in Poas Volcano National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pura Vida Hotel
Pura Vida Hotel
#1 of 56 in Alajuela
5.0 of 5 stars 670 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pacande
Hotel Pacande
#2 of 56 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alegria Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alegria Bed and Breakfast

Property: Alegria Bed and Breakfast
Address: Pueblo Nuevo de Alajuela, Residential Alajuela, segundo entrada, 200 metro norte, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alegria is a true Bed and Breakfast with guest rooms in our family home. We are only minutes from the San Jose International airport, convenient for your arrival and departure days. Enjoy the best of Southern Hospitality in a classic Spanish home with precious wood ceilings, hand-carved doors and welcoming porches. We are located in a friendly, secure neighborhood of professional Tico and international families. Convenient shopping and bus service are just steps away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alegria b&b
Alegria Hotel Alajuela
Alegria Bed And Breakfast Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing