We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond in the rough”
Review of 1915 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
1915 Hotel
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Diamond in the rough”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is beautiful! The neighborhood is interesting, but right across the street there is a police station (and a delicious local food joint). To enter the hotel you must ring a door bell and the desk clerk will open the door. We had a room with a very nice balcony and roomy bathroom. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    44
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
27
48
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Very nice boutique hotel, minutes from the international airport. Excellent choice for those who wish to avoid bustling San Jose (Alajuela is a lovely small town). The common areas, sitting room and dining room are gorgeous. Our bedroom was fairly simple and in comparison slightly disappointing. The included breakfast was excellent. An excellent location for a last night in Costa Rica before catching a flight home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walpole, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

These folks couldn't have been nicer! Our family of 5 stayed here for one night in February 2012. We had been up to the Arenal area, and had an early morning flight the next morning to The Osa Peninsula. It was great to see a bit of a metropolitan area, although we drove in after dark and couldn't walk around as much as I would have liked. 1915 Hotel was very safe. It had bars on the windows (like everything else in the area), and you had to ring a bell to be let in. Once inside, you were in another world! It felt like Morocco. Positively beautiful, peaceful, great common spaces. Amazing big breakfast. We had two rooms up their own private stairs with a little private sitting area. A/C. Flat-screen TVs. Wonderful showers. Comfy beds. Really, really perfect, and affordable. We walked across the street to a restaurant called "Monteleone" which was excellent. Highly recommend 1915 Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed in 1915 Hotel in May 2012. We only stayed the one night, after flying in to San José airport that evening.

The hotel was spotless clean, was very quiet and far more beautiful than the photos on this site would lead you to believe - they do it little justice. The staff didn't have much English, but enough to communicate at a basic level. In addition, they were very accommodating, warm and friendly (like most Costa Rican people that we met on our trip!).

Would def. stay again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenFitzg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Small simple cramped rooms, slightly disorganized staff, though very nice and helpful. The hotel was beautiful, historic building with lovely places to lounge. Great breakfast. Very safe rooms and parking. Nice place to begin or end your adventure!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LosAngelesTamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

This reservation was made for my group. I arrived at the airport and the taxi driver had to ask another for directions. Short, inexpensive cab ride. Doesn't look like a hotel from the street, but inside it is wonderful. Looks and feels like a historic home where you are a guest.
Small room, but it had an en suite bathroom. We ate dinner and breakfast here and it was excellent. Very friendly staff, who get to know you quickly as the hotel is small. This is my idea of a boutique hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terdal_Erik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa rosa,ca
Level Contributor
226 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Spent 3 nights here as a base to visit poas volcano and rest up after 3 weeks traveling around Costa Rica. This is an old place and looks funky from the outside but once you enter it is quite a charmer. Built in about1900 as a residence for some coffee magnates and converted into a hotel it offers travelers a variety of rooms at varying price points. We didnt like the 65 and 75 dollar rooms but the pricier balcony room is great. Its a large room w/ a very comfortable king size bed a large bathroom and a patio. It has a wall mounted flat screen TV, A/C and iffy wi fi. over-all very comfortable. There is a good included breakfast. The door is locked so must ask to be let out and must ring a bell to get someone to let you back in. That and the poorly designed but attractive shower which leaks like crazy bugged me a bit but hey all in all a good place. Balcony room cost me $90 per night.here is a parking lot with very tight spaces which also requires staff assistance

Room Tip: look at various rooms before you decide. can negotiate price a little w/ cash payment
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
3.2 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
658 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
1.2 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#10 of 27 in Alajuela
298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo
3.4 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#6 of 27 in Alajuela
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1915 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1915 Hotel

Property: 1915 Hotel
Address: Downtown Alajuela, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 1915 Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your 1915 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1915 Hotel Alajuela
1915 Hotel Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing