We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to chat with other travelers”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alajuela
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Coconut House
Ranked #18 of 63 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 29, 2010

We stayed here for two nights at the beginning of our trip to Costa Rica and two nights at the end mostly because it was reasonably priced and fairly close to the airport. We ended up finding this place one of the best bargains in Costa Rica and a delightful place to relax for breakfast (buffet-style fruit, juice and toast, included) and dinner.

This small hotel (more like a bed and breakfast) attracts quite a few Europeans, partly because the owners are German. At dinner (optional, but well worth the modest cost) our final night, we listened to guests speaking German, French, Spanish, Catalan and English -- it was a great place to meet and chat with people from all over.

Although the home/hotel is obviously an older building, it is kept immaculately clean. The rooms are simple, and there's not much here in terms of extras other than wireless Internet. The Coconut House is in a safe and quiet residential area within walking distance of downtown Alajuela, and about 10-15 minutes via taxi from the airport. The hosts are very helpful with providing travel information and arranging transportation or tours. If we ever return to Costa Rica, we'd definitely stay here again at the beginning or end of our trip.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank notanativemontanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 96 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2010

The hotel is located in a residential part of Alajuele opposite to a small city park, 15 minutes from the International Airport of San José. Great for your first and last nights in Costa Rica. Inexpensive. Very friendly owners. Another way to see real Costa Rica. A place to meet Europeans either living in that country or coming there periodically.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank proftourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

This was a great budget choice for the first and last nights of our trip - when all you want to do is have a cold beer (only $1 from the fully stocked fridge!) and sleep on the first night and then be near the airport the night before you leave. I doubt you'd want to stay there for very long as there's not much going on in Alajuela and it's far enough from San Jose to be inconvenient.

Personally I would have liked the rooms to have been a bit more uniform in terms of decoration and bedding, as I felt a bit like I was depriving some child of his/her bedroom, but having said that, you can't fault the hospitality and at that price they could have put me in a room made out like Barbie's castle and I would still have been happy!

The owners and staff are lovely and extremely helpful, the breakfasts are filling and they do a good job of convincing you that escaping Europe for more tropical climes makes perfect sense. It's not going to blow you away, but as a convenient stop near the airport you'd have to try hard to beat it for less than $40.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbrammah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2010

Hotel Coconut House is a great place to stay. They are so, so helpful and go out of their way to make sure you are well looked after. They will make all necessary arrangements for you and ensure you are aware of all you need to know while traveling in the country. The accommodations are great, clean and comfortable and breakfast was delicious! Great place to stay and great people running it!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrueNorthJ_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2010

This was an excellent choice for us in Alajuela. The hotel is quiet and exceptionally clean. The price is reasonable and comes with a very nice selection for breakfast. It was very easy to take a bus into town and back to the Hotel. We had an afternoon flight out, so we were able to use the buses to easily get to the airport in plenty of time. The owners are very nice and helpful.

Pros: Clean, quiet, easy to get to, yet out of the noise of downtown, decent price, good breakfast.

Cons: None

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dchayden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2010

I have to thank Heike and Rainer again for their warm welcome and providing perfect service!

We stayed at Coconut House 3 years ago for the first time and we were lucky to have chance to return! We are always happy to come back to this place with nice people!

The location of the hotel is about 5 minutes from the international airport and Alajuela is very safe place to overnight after arrival to Costa Rica or when planning trips around San Jose.

The rooms are very clean and functionally furnished. The breakfast is included and rich - you can choose from fruits, cheese, ham, bread, eggs, juices, coffee, tea...... If you want, you can ask for dinner too - it´s really worthwile - huge portions and delicious taste!

Heike is always ready to help you with planning your trip and answer all your questions. I can fully recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Z29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2010

The service was great and professionnal for a Bed&Breakfast The location is great if you want to be close to the airport (10 minutes from there, 7$ for the taxi). But forget it if you think about having some leisure for the night life in Alajuela ;-)
The Neighborhood is quiet and calm but you feel like you're in a big prison with all these barricaded houses, dogs and bars ...
But if you want a cheap, clean and a good value to stay for one or two nights in Alajuela, this is the place ;-)

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hakim17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
675 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,353 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pacande
Hotel Pacande
#3 of 63 in Alajuela
187 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.0 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#1 of 1 in Pilas
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coconut House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coconut House

Address: Urb. La Trinidad, del Super La Trinidad 100 Sur y 350 oeste, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Coconut House 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Hotel Coconut House Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing