We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Choice”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alajuela
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Coconut House
Ranked #14 of 60 Alajuela B&B and Inns
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent Choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2010

This was an excellent choice for us in Alajuela. The hotel is quiet and exceptionally clean. The price is reasonable and comes with a very nice selection for breakfast. It was very easy to take a bus into town and back to the Hotel. We had an afternoon flight out, so we were able to use the buses to easily get to the airport in plenty of time. The owners are very nice and helpful.

Pros: Clean, quiet, easy to get to, yet out of the noise of downtown, decent price, good breakfast.

Cons: None

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dchayden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    19
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
59
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2010

I have to thank Heike and Rainer again for their warm welcome and providing perfect service!

We stayed at Coconut House 3 years ago for the first time and we were lucky to have chance to return! We are always happy to come back to this place with nice people!

The location of the hotel is about 5 minutes from the international airport and Alajuela is very safe place to overnight after arrival to Costa Rica or when planning trips around San Jose.

The rooms are very clean and functionally furnished. The breakfast is included and rich - you can choose from fruits, cheese, ham, bread, eggs, juices, coffee, tea...... If you want, you can ask for dinner too - it´s really worthwile - huge portions and delicious taste!

Heike is always ready to help you with planning your trip and answer all your questions. I can fully recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Z29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2010

The service was great and professionnal for a Bed&Breakfast The location is great if you want to be close to the airport (10 minutes from there, 7$ for the taxi). But forget it if you think about having some leisure for the night life in Alajuela ;-)
The Neighborhood is quiet and calm but you feel like you're in a big prison with all these barricaded houses, dogs and bars ...
But if you want a cheap, clean and a good value to stay for one or two nights in Alajuela, this is the place ;-)

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hakim17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, NH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2009

As soon as we arrived Heike made us feel right at home showing us to our room and giving us directions on the bus system in the area so we could get downtown for dinner. They also prepare a dinner onsite if you're interested.

The both the bedroom and private bath portions of the room were ample sized and very clean.

Breakfast was a good selection of fresh fruits, bread and hard boiled eggs. They also offer beer and other beverages on the honor system.

We wished we had book our last night here as well.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chia0928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2009

I recently stayed here for two nights, and found it very pleasant and friendly
If you are looking for something simple and convenient then I fully recommend it. It has a great atmosphere, the rooms are very clean, they serve a delicious and healthy breakfast and it's within easy walking distance of the city centre. The staff are extremely pleasant and will go out of your way to help you, especially Heike the owner. She is very likable and actively seeks to help you with your holiday plans.

I would recommend learning some basic spanish especially if arriving late as the night porter speaks limited english.

A simple hotel with a warm atmosphere that is extremely good value for money

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBBBCCCCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2009

Mi wife and I spend our first and last night at the Coconut House in Alajuela. We chose the small , family run hotel because it is located close to the airport and ideal for arriving and leaving Costa Rica. The hotel is located in a quiet suburb of Alajuela. The owners, Heike and Rainer were very helpful getting us started in Costa Rica and answered our many questions. Rooms are spotlessly clean and the breakfast surpasses many expensive hotels we have stayed in with its quality (homemade bread). We would definitely stay there again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nispero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gambling Mecca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2009

I stayed the night before my early flight out of Costa Rica and found this place to be very comfortable and the host were extremely friendly. I early the next morning wishing I had one more night to get to know the host and their friends a little better because we had a fun night chatting and drinking a few beers. The room with a private bathroom was comfortable and very clean. The nightly room rate is a terrific deal considering the hostels close proximity to the international airport.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pubcrawling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#6 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#8 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mi Tierra
Hotel Mi Tierra
#20 of 29 in Alajuela
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coconut House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coconut House

Property: Hotel Coconut House
Address: Urb. La Trinidad, del Super La Trinidad 100 Sur y 350 oeste, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Coconut House 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Hotel Coconut House Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing