We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Coconut House
Nearby Hotels
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$163
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Rosa de America(Alajuela)
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
$103
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveler rating
68
19
8
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
19
8
0
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 96 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Over some years I stayed there a couple of times & it was always a pleasure. Friendly, helpful owners Heike & Rainer run a cozy place with very nice, clean rooms and are open for any questions about the country. A very quiet location. Great breakfast-buffett. Rainer bakes his own bread! I can recommend Coconut House to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Felix_ww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

We used Coconut House for 4 weeks as our base for going off and exploring different parts of the country, and as on a couple of occasions we had weight restrictions on domestic flights we very much appreciated being able to leave part of our luggage at the hotel.
The owners Heike and Reiner are German, but both speak English as well as Spanish. We have travelled a great deal, but never before have we ever felt more at ease, more competently advised, more helped along in every respect than by them. They bend over backwards for their guests - phoning reliable taxis, describing the way to good eateries, giving advice about the quirks of driving in Costa Rica, checking flight times, if necessary rebooking flights etc. They run their hotel on strictly eco-friendly lines, so rubbish is carefully separated, and only biological cleaning materials used.
The hotel is small with only 6 rooms, which are kept spotlessly clean. Everything works, which is not something you can always expect in Central America. The rooms are furnished with the basic necessities, and the overhead ventilators keep the air pleasantly moving on hot nights. There is no air-conditioning , which might be a problem for some people.
Coconut House is well located in a side-road in a quiet residential area opposite a small park. It is about 20 minutes by taxi from the airport, and there is a bus stop to San Jose, the capital, just round the corner. A modern well-stocked supermarket with an ATM is a bare 10 minutes on foot.
Breakfast is buffet-style, and is plentiful and good. The cook comes in most evenings a week and prepares a very tasty dinner (local cuisine) at a very moderate price.
There is a quiet, beautifully kept little garden with wonderful tropical plants (and birds!) behind the house, and we enjoyed a bit of quality time there.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank McErnst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

Heike the owner was so helpful and accommodating. I had planned on staying there with just my husband but due to flight cancellations my sister was with us also. At the last minute Heike was able to rearrange and accommodate all of us. The hotel is great a short stay when going or coming from the airport.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveler2011015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

My wife and I have stayed in this hotel twice. It is a great place when you have an early flight out of, or late flight into, C.R. It is a 10 minute, $6 taxi ride from the airport. Breakfast is included, & dinners can be ordered for $10. The hotel is clean, secure and very quiet. The German owner is pleasant, helpful and speaks English.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skoehler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

We stayed here the night before our morning flight home from San Jose. It was small but clean and comfortable. Theres nothing much more special about it than that. It was basic and convenient for 1 night, but I wouldnt have liked to stay here as part of a longer holiday. When we got up early for our flight, the nightman (who I think was local) greeted us with a smile and made us (much welcome) mugs of coffee for while we waited for our taxi which was nice.
The price for a double room with private bathroom including breakfast and tax was US $37 so its a real bargain.

One thing worth mentioning- the owner has about 6 cats that wander about the property so if you are allergic, make sure you pack your antihistamines!

There was a cheap take-away place nearby (5-10 min walk) where you could also eat in, so we went there for dinner. The food was good but greasy and definitely no frills! To go to somewhere decent to eat you would have to get a taxi out.

It was US $7/8 for a taxi to the airport.

One thing we hadn't realised is that you have to pay an airport fee of $26 EACH to leave Costa Rica. I had assumed that charges like that were included in your flight price- not so (at least not with Continental Airlines). If you pay this charge by credit card, they put it through as a cash advance fee (with the huge charges associated), so make sure you have some spare dollars to exit.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doublechoc-chip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews