We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The famed Peanut man was brillant!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of George Washington Carver Museum

George Washington Carver Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$70.00*
and up
Full Day Black History Day Trip to Alabama Sites
Ranked #2 of 6 things to do in Tuskegee
Attraction details
Hillsboro Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The famed Peanut man was brillant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

I had no idea of ALL the talents of Carver. Not only a scientist, he was also an artist. The museum offered us insights into his life that we had not known and were even more impressed with the great American who contributed so much to society. Its a must see place. And a great trip with children. Located on the beautiful campus of Tuskegee University, we really enjoyed walking on the campus and visiting the home of Booker T Washington as well.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 59jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    14
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
162 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Museum is on campus but ask guard how to find it.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

I agree with the previous gentleman about not making a special trip. We did. It's interesting but not worth a 20 minute detour from I-85 specifically to see it. The campus is beautiful and if you have time you should walk around for the history. The information on Carver was good but you could probably learn as much or more on the internet. We tried to see it a year ago when it was closed so thus time we finally made it. Park at the hotel. It's located in a separate building on the south side.

Helpful?
Thank TC c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
482 reviews
277 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
“Visit If You're Already in the Area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

I visited this museum after coming from the Tuskegee Airmen National Historic Site (Tuskegee Airmen Museum) about 5 minutes away. The museum was average; I wouldn't make it a point to come to this museum as a primary destination.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank honestrealreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuskegee Institute, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So much from sweet potatos and peanuts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

we toured the museum, but we also saw the film on Carver. That really brought his story home. The museum has exhibits that will delight even small children. There is also a souvenir shop. You can actually hear Carver's voice on a mock telephone. We also got a chance to go on the tour of the historic Tuskegee campus. That was eye opening! It was a great stop!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIAMI
Level Contributor
815 reviews
259 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
“closed until october”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We were very disappointed not to see this museum as it is closed until October, 2013. Perhaps on another trip we will see the museum about the man who invented over 300 uses for peanuts, 100+ uses for sweet potatoes, etc.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MIAMISHEILA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George Washington Carver Museum also viewed

 

Been to George Washington Carver Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing