We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food like your Mama cooked for you if you grew up in Alabama”
Review of Claunch Cafe

Claunch Cafe
Ranked #1 of 25 Restaurants in Tuscumbia
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Gambrills, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Food like your Mama cooked for you if you grew up in Alabama”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We always like to visit Claunch Cafe whenever we travel to the Shoals area. This most recent visit was on a Sunday after church and they were very crowded. We had a wait of about 15 minutes for our party of 6. I had Chicken and Dressing with cranberry sauce, squash casserole, sweet potato casserole, rolls and green beans. The dressing was a little dry, but other than that, the meal was delicious! The sweet potato casserole tastes just like what I make for holidays. The food at Claunch's always reminds me of the meals my mother cooked every day when I was growing up. Good southern comfort food!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stevemU9044DH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    16
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Home Cooked Meal”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Went to Claunch Cafe after church for a good home cooked meal. Had their special - today you had a choice of fried chicken which was a fried boneless chicken breast, roast beef or chicken & dressing. All looked great - I had the friend chicken w/ 3 sides. The sides were all very good. The servers are attentive and friendly. The desserts are wonderful. I definitely recommend this place especially if you want some good home cooked type food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Goombagirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, AL
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cornbread Salad”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Black beans, corn, red onion, green bell pepper, bacon, cheese, Ranch dressing, tomatoes on top of crumbled cornbread. YUM!!! I had never had this before so I have nothing to compare it to but was delish! My friend had a BTL with fries, and the thick cut bacon was piled high. Great setting in Spring Park. We went on Sunday and it is a popular spot for the after church crowd.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank ESC2HSV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabaster, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Folks”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

This place is always good. The food is homecooked from recipes handed down over the generations. The Claunch family a good people, always happy to see you, always make you feel like you are a guest in their own home. Best lunch in town.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank AutieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscumbia, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Amazingly good food”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Located in Spring Park in Tuscumbia, this restaurant serves amazingly good food at very good prices. Service is excellent.

The only reason I didn't rate it a 5 is the noise. The dining area is 2 open rooms with no sound absorption at all, only 6 reflective surfaces. You can hear cutlery rattle from across the room and someone scraping their chair back is deafening. When it's full, it's almost impossible to carry on a conversation.

Even worse if you wear hearing aids because they magnify background noise even more than conversation noise.

Closed Friday and Saturday.

Put some sound absorbing in and this will be a wonderful 5.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Temblor123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Claunch Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Claunch Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing