We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From blind to sight”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ivy Green

Ivy Green
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Tuscumbia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The birthplace of Helen Keller, this site provides tours and information and includes the historic pump that provided the "miracle" breakthrough.
Athens, Alabama
Level Contributor
94 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“From blind to sight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Rich with history. Read the book on Helen Kelllar's life and you will definitely want to visit her home at Ivy Green. You can see her in your imaginiation as she climbs the great oaks on the grounds. See the pump where she learned to spell out the sign language WATER. The play performed by local artists depicting Her story is a great see also. Check the web site for times. Beautiful grounds to walk , convient, clean! Great place for kids to learn of our history.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vickie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    33
    9
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Muscle Shoals, Alabama
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice home, but smaller than I imagined.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

It is great to see the home where Helen Keller grew up. It is a typical older home from the time period. Definitely not large by our standards today, but a nice home. You need to go to say that you were have seen it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank SouthernGirlFromAla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gadsden, Alabama
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A MUST SEE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Helen Keller's home is a must see for visitors to the Shoals or to Alabama-- Many personal items and nice period furnishings fill the house and in the summer you can see the MIRACLE WORKER play performed on the grounds.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Exactly what I had envisioned”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Ivy Green was exactly what I had envisioned it would be: a simple, white, cottage-style home sitting in the midst of beautiful trees and gardens. Also on the grounds are the Carriage House that Helen and Anne lived in, an outdoor kitchen, gift shop (does not offer many things), clean restrooms, an ice shed, and the beautiful Lion's Club's International Memorial Fountain. The most fascinating sites for me were the old well pump behind the main house, and the video of Helen giving a speech, located in the garden area.

It cost $6 per adult and $2 per student to tour the home and grounds. The home has been maintained in its original state and includes many of the Keller family's own furnishings, clothing, and handmade items.

One room now has many personal mementos of Helen's including her Braille typewriter and Braille books.

The tour itself consisted of a volunteer giving us some information about the family and a few of the rooms on the bottom floor. I would have liked some more information about the family.

There is a Helen Keller Festival the last week of June, and a play is performed on the grounds every weekend from early June to mid-July.

It was definitely worth visiting. My 14 & 13 year-old girls and I loved it. My 11-year-old boy, not-so-much.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank FloridaTravelGirl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good for kids too”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We took my 6 year old niece to visit here after she had learned about Helen Keller in school. She liked it so much that she wanted to watch "The Miracle Worker" as soon as we got home and was riveted by the story and the movie. I think maybe it has something to do with her being the age that Helen Keller was when most of the events there transpired. Wish we could have been there for the play.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andrea_says
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ivy Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing