We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Tuscaloosa”
Review of DePalma's

DePalma's
Ranked #1 of 289 Restaurants in Tuscaloosa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
571 reviews
442 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Best in Tuscaloosa”
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

We had a great dinner. We are a large group, 8 of us they don't take reservations and won't seat you until the entire party is there but the wait wasn't too long. The dinner was fantastic. I had the carnivore lasagna and it was off the hook, I also had a Caesar salad and it was very good too. I will be back

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank adam-kelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    131
    30
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Totally charmed”
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Our group of 4 was road-tripping east on I-20 from an epic week in New Orleans and were hungry for a late lunch. Blessed with ample technology, one of our group checked his "Magic Box" Trip Advisor app for restos between Meridien and Tuscaloosa and found the #1-rated DePalma's in Tide Town. A quick detour from the sterility of Interstate chains, and we found it--open on Sunday afternoon. And we were charmed!
The service was friendly and efficient, the atmosphere was delightful (Elvis and Marilyn; what's not to love?), and the food impressed--standard Italian fare prepared with flair and quality, fresh ingredients.
We sampled the stuffed mushrooms (yummy!), pasta dishes (quite good), and the veal Marsala rivaled any this side of the Atlantic. And while we didn't try the pizza, it looked and smelled wonderful, rich with San Marzano tomatoes and what looked to be freshly made mozzarella.
This charming place is definitely worth a side trip from I-20!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Whirlwind2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Friday night”
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Second time to visit here and the food is always great. Service was quick and wait staff was friendly. I could eat here everyday.

Helpful?
Thank dtrail6203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Love the steak salad. The food is consistently good. It is the only restaurant we go to when craving Italian.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chickelbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Italian in Tuscaloosa”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Not a huge fan of Italian, but they have a big menu. I can always find something new to try. Great service! They are usually busy in weekends, so get a reservation.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DePalma's also viewed

 
Tuscaloosa, AL
 

Been to DePalma's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing