We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant surroundings, excellent food”
Review of Evangeline's

Evangeline's
Ranked #17 of 288 Restaurants in Tuscaloosa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Elegant surroundings, excellent food”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Our book club met at Evangeline's this week for a special treat and our book discussion of William Faulkner's, Light in August. We passed on appetizers, which sounded mouth-watering. I had a cup of tomato basil soup and a "princess" portion of shrimp and grits. Every mouthful of food was a treat to my taste buds! Entrees here are priced from about 12 to about 20 dollars. I believe you get what you pay for, and this food was worth the price. Outside seating is available when weather permits. Service is excellent and the atmosphere elegant and relaxing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Otye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    11
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Out-of-the-way location”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Well, the location is sort-of hidden, and to be honest, the decor is attractive. Entrees attempt to be fancy, but sacrifice quality. Dining area is noisily close to the bar.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank GeneMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave_S_Evangelines, Public Relations Manager at Evangeline's, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the decor in our restaurant! We are always excited to see what our decorators have in store for the seasons. I hope you will give us another opportunity to improve the dining experience you shared with us back in October 2012. Football season does tend to bring with it excited patrons, but our guest generally enjoy a quiet atmosphere. Please mention this post on your return visit and we will do our best to accommodate you with an ideal dining experience here at Evangeline's.

Thanks,
Kori Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
93 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely Atmosphere, Food OK”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Service was excellent for the large group we had. It is a quiet, well appointed restaurant. Appetizers were delicious, particularly the pear and cheese pizza, was delicious. The house Piont Noir was delicious. My only complaint was that the dish I ordered was $18.95 and was an airline breast (very small), terrible green beans (Haricot Verts - which just confuses most people). The Chicken was good just smaller than normal on a dinner menu.

The really weird thing was suddenly we were all given our checks without being asked if we would like coffee or desert. Again, the wait staff was very on point except for this. We were so surprised we just paid and left.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave_S_Evangelines, Public Relations Manager at Evangeline's, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for your review! Here at Evangeline's, we always love to hear when our patrons enjoy their dinner. I see that you did have some complaints and I hope you return so you can indulge in the five star treatment we strive to provide! I see you did not care for the Haricot Verts. These are not typical green beans - but a French version which are longer, skinner and have a more complex flavor. Might I suggest to substitute some of our roasted seasonal vegetables that is always a crowd pleaser? We hope to hear from you soon and please mention this post upon your return.

Thanks,
Kori Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Demarest, New Jersey
Level Contributor
101 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“I love this place”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I have been here 3 times since my daughter has been in UA. I really look forward to an upscale lovely restaurant. Wonderful food, great service.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jgfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottondale, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I go to fine restaurants often, including Michelin restaurants in Europe and top restaurants in large US cities. I have been to Evangelines under several mangement folks in the past. My experience today was extremely poor. The food was good, but was over-shadowed by a bad dining experience. I won't give all the details, but we were rushed through the meal. My first wine choice could not be found ... my second was out and so they brought three wines not on the menu which they told me I could have for a "good price" but they could not tell me what a good price meant except "less than the normal price." The food came quickly (before the wine finally arrived) and the empty plates were taken quickly ,,, often without asking. The food was good, and the meal would have been fine except for the bad luck / bad service. But then, after dessert and asking for the check we were asked if we could pay by cash or check, since the computers were not working and so they would take any credit cards.
Part of it was bad luck, but I felt compelled to talk to the manager ... which I rarely do unless it is to commend the wonderful meal. The manager was polite and apologized. I did not complain much. I know he cannot help the computer glitch. But still ... it was the imperfect ending to an imperfect meal.
If you want someplace nice in Tuscaloosa, Kozys, Epiphany Cafe and Chuck's Fish will also give you good food, without the service hassels.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Harris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Evangeline's also viewed

 

Been to Evangeline's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing