We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Mother's Day Brunch”
Review of Evangeline's

Evangeline's
Ranked #17 of 288 Restaurants in Tuscaloosa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Tuscaloosa Al
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Mother's Day Brunch”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Four of us dined here today for their special Mother's Day brunch and must say everyone had excellent food. I had shrimp and grits, very tasty and perfectly cooked. Others at my table enjoyed the pain perdu (French toast), trout and quiche. All were perfectly prepared and presented well. This is my second visit here in the last several months and I was equally pleased with that meal. Keep up the great work!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CettieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    11
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Tuscaloosa . . .”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

This is truly a special occasion restaurant. The food is exquisitely prepared and presented and the service is very good to exceptional. They have an extensive wine list and the menu is varied enough to satisfy the most discriminating palates.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Don1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
118 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent out-of-the-way restaurant”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Evangeline's is not the easiest place to find. Inconspicuously located in ins beautiful setting in the Galleria north of the river, you kind of have to either know where Evangeline's is located or get directions. However, if you do find it, you will like what you find. A great, ever-changing menu. The food is consistently excellent and the atmosphere is always pleasant. The only real downside is the service is generally not top-notch and fairly inconsistent. Nothing terrible, just not quite up to par with the rest of the dining experience at Evangeline's. I highly recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TuscaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pricey but uninspired”
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Met friends for dinner and drinks midweek. The wine list is adequate, but the per glass pricing is steep for the area and for the wines offered. Dinner offered some interesting choices, but really pretty ho-hum. We had the shrimp and grits and the eggplant & pasta. The shrimp dish was devoid of any defining character, why pair it with those veggies? What was the chef trying to do with the sauce? Pretty bland, even for this traditional dish. The eggplant was battered and deep fried and served over over cooked pasta. Described as a fresh tomato and white wine sauce, the blend was again without any real flavor. Why bother? Huge portion, but I didn't even want to bring it home. And stay away from the creme brulee. Nice berries, but the brulee was served cold and had all the flavor of the white paste we all tasted in nursery school. Blech. For all that, the service was good and the setting nice enough. Disappointing meal and a pretty steep price.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank catfish60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, Alabama
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My new favorite restaurant!”
Reviewed July 3, 2011

I DEFINITELY advise all - including friends and the pickiest of family - to try this restaurant. The servers, ambiance, and most importantly - food - are fabulous.

Plates we tried (and loved): Tenderloin with potatoes and asparagus; Shrimp scampi pomadora with pasta; Pork chop (HUGE) with sauteed carrots and potatoes; Shrimp and Grits with asparagus; Tanglewood Farms chicken with green beans; Grouper with green beans and fresh veggies.

Sides: Saracco Masccato d'Asti (awesome fruity wine), Strawberry bruschetta, Tomato basil soup, "Cardini" (Caesar romaine salad) with parmesan (awesome).

Desserts: Sorry - didn't try these - we brought a cake and they plated then brought out at our request!

My wife and I threw our son and new fiancée an engagement party at Evangeline's this past Friday evening, and boy, what a GREAT place to have a quaint and private celebration. We had six meals, all different, and each of us had our own stories of just how delicious our meals were.

The managing partner, Mr. Simpson, was easily reachable, was there on site and greeted us, and was very, very approachable with our requests. The service was awesome and every employee we dealt with (5) was extremely gracious and accommodating. We requested quite a few special services: we brought our own cake, we asked for a sweet Moscato Asti that they didn't normally serve, as well as a special large table in a special place - each request was met with a "no problem"! The location was a touch hard to find, although we could see Highway 82 from the front door.

The outside was just as beautiful and elegant as the inside, with extra romantic touches thrown in. The parking was adequate, with direct access to spacious walkways and nice areas to kill time with a loved one or acquaintance. There is a fairly large man-made water feature near the front door, with quite a few places for pictures.

My wife and I have a new favorite restaurant. Try Evangeline's just once and I'm sure you'll agree! I don't know the owners, managers, or any of the staff - we just LOVED this evening so much that we wanted to take the time to say so.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller411whynot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Evangeline's also viewed

 
Tuscaloosa, AL
 

Been to Evangeline's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing