We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great beds, large LCD flat-screens & newest beddings...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN University Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN University Inn
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Certificate of Excellence
Magnolia, Tx.
Level Contributor
220 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
“Great beds, large LCD flat-screens & newest beddings...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2010

Had not stayed at a Best Western for at least a year, and this one was updated with latest modern beddings (photos on Orbitz show outdated decor & rooms) for this hotel. The bed is superior and very easy to fall asleep & stay asleep. Room also had large LCD flat-screen with multiple cable channels. A very nice step up for Best Western, I'd say. Choice of restaurants close by is not very good if you like more than just your run-of-the-mill fast food or family restaurants. Excellent value for the money. I asked for AAA discount, but the clerk gave me a better AARP discount even tho I'm not a member but am old enough for it. Will definitely stay here again when in the Tuscaloosa area.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    139
    56
    16
    12
See reviews for
219
79
27
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
BirminghamAL
Level Contributor
274 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2010

We stayed on a Friday night before Tuscaloosa's huge airshow and the place was completely full. There was plenty of parking and staff very nice to work with. This is an older hotel and a bit tricky to get into -- you have to watch carefully which driveway goes to the hotel. Even though it is older it is well maintained. It looked like the rooms had just been repainted. The room was clean, the air conditioner worked properly, and the bed fairly comfortable. They have a hot breakfast of sausage, eggs, french toast, waffles, and the usual cereals and fruit. I do with the breakfast area had a few more tables, but the turnover was quick enough that it wasn't a real problem. It has cable television with a standard selection. I do wish the television had closed captioning on it. This is the second time we've stayed here and will probably stay here again the next time we stay in this town.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveTravelingOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler
Level Contributor
173 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2008

This was a pleasant surprise for me.
The property is a little hard to get to if you don't know the area. Other than that this is great place to stay.
The rooms are of a decent size and quite clean as well. They have all the amenities that one has come to expect from this chain. In fact they are pretty nice and well kept up. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable as well.
I can't quite remember how much the room was but I think it was around $85.
They do a decent breakfast as well.
Overall, I would have no hesitation recommending this property for all types of travellers.

  • Liked — The rooms were pretty nice
  • Disliked — Kind of hard to get to
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozcfied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RTP, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2008

Overall, I had a really good stay here. The room was clean. The service was good. The only things that I did not like about it was that I was not able to get wireless internet, even though they said it was free and had no password. The other thing is that it is located right off of Highway I-20 at a very busy crowded intersection. Getting in and out was a bit difficult.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank koalabear991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
191 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2008

The rooms are clean and the facility is well kept up but be aware that it is nestled between the highway off ramp and a construction site. I don't consider myself a light sleeper, but between the late arrivals, the heating fans, the highway noise and the early risers, I finally had to put on my sound muffling headphones so I could get some sleep.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank neriagechris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djkamp, Owner at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2010
We did have some construction going on during your stay. It was the new O'Charleys restaurant at the entrance to our property. Its all completed, and provides a wonderful addition to all the other amenities we provide, including free wi-fi in all rooms. As a family owned property, we value your input. Contact me personally if I can be of any assistance. Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minot, North Dakota
Level Contributor
195 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2008

The hotel was fine, but I think of it as just okay because the hot tub was not working the night I was there and I had been on the road for 10 hours and was really looking forward to a soak. Room was standard, clean, etc., and everything worked well.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Questovia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djkamp, Owner at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2010
Sorry for your disappointment in the Hot tub no longer being there. We renovated our pool area and the surrounding landscaped courtyard, and unfortunately, the hot tob had to go. We think our pool environment is one of the best in Tuscaloosa, and hope you'll consider us in your future trips to Tuscaloosa. As a family owned hotel, we appreciate your input.
Dan Kamp, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, LA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2007

We stayed her for the April Talladega race. Excellent service, clean room and cheap prices! Would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ralz28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tuscaloosa hotels
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tuscaloosa
1.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tuscaloosa Near University
0.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Tuscaloosa - University of Alabama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Tuscaloosa
3.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Tuscaloosa Downtown University Boulevard
2.5 mi away
Hotel Capstone
Hotel Capstone
#5 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN University Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN University Inn
Address: 3801 McFarland Blvd E, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405-2403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#3 Best Value Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#5 Family Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#9 Business Hotel in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Award Winning Tuscaloosa, Alabama hotel providing convenient access to key area attractions including the University of Alabama, Alabama Museum of Natural History and the Bama Belle Riverboat. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Park Plaza where guests will experience the best in award winning customer service and accommodations at an unbeatable value. Guests staying at this Tuscaloosa hotel will be conveniently near the Bryant Denny Stadium, Paul Bear Bryant Museum, the University of Alabama campus, Battle Friedman House and the Black Warrior Railroad.The BEST WESTERN Park Plaza proudly offers 117 well-appointed, newly remodeled guest rooms each complete with cable satellite television and free high-speed Internet access. Guests staying at this Alabama hotel will enjoy an array of amenities including a complimentary hot breakfast buffet (Tuscaloosa's best hotel breakfast which includes: sliced breads, bagels, croissants, muffins, doughnuts, French toast cinnamon rolls, cereal, oatmeal, grits, eggs, biscuits, gravy, sausage, fresh pancakes, fresh fruit, yogurt, coffee, milk and three juice choices. ), Tuscaloosa's largest hotel swimming pool, exercise facilities and business services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tuscaloosa
Park Plaza Tuscaloosa
Tuscaloosa Best Western
Tuscaloosa Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing