We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western University Inn
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Reviewed August 21, 2014

I would recommend this hotel for your overnight stay but I would suggest unloading everything out of your vehicle since there have been two vehicles broken into in less than a month's time. Other than that, the rooms and grounds are clean. Beds comfortable. Internet great.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Evelyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna M, General Manager at Best Western University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We do hope your travels will bring you through Tuscaloosa Alabama and to BEST WESTERN Park Plaza Motor Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (475)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 475 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2014

We pulled off the Interstate, looking for a hotel that would accept traveling dogs.
As we turned, there was the Best Western, with a Trip Advisor endorsement on the marquee sign. :)

Went in, the receptionist couldn't have been nicer. Extremely friendly and welcoming. She saw to our needs beautifully and told us to be sure and come down in time for breakfast, especially the sausage gravy and biscuits.

Wow, was she right!
One of the best breakfasts ever for this category hotel.
Really excellent.

Would most definitely stay here again should our travels take us this way.

Room Tip: We stayed on the back side, which was perfect for us with a dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TravelBugTennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna M, General Manager at Best Western University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

We are so please to hear that your stay at BEST WESTERN Park Plaza Motor Inn was pleasant and all of your and your pets needs were met. We love to hear how much everyone enjoys our hot breakfast bar. Our breakfast attendants are awesome and they love to hear that our guest enjoyed a good hot breakfast before starting their day.
Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Home cooked scrambled eggs, bacon, ham, biscuits, fruit, cereal...and really good coffee! The rooms were clean and the bath was hot. Nothing fancy as far as the rooms went. But I agree that they were clean and the feel was good. Extra towels for the picky husband and a very cheery front desk. My daughters enjoyed the pool. Park out front--a car was broken into over in the darker corner near the woods. Lots of police drive through when we were there (appropriate)and with our full car moving the daughter to Bama. Would stay there again, if only to save the cost of breakfast for 4.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank ljrkrispes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna M, General Manager at Best Western University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Thank you Erica for your review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear that your stay was enjoyable and met or exceeded your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised with the room, services, breakfast, and location. The room was nicely done and spacious. It was VERY clean. The staff was nice and accommodating making my stay an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna M, General Manager at Best Western University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear your stay was pleasing. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Have stayed here half a dozen times in the last 2 years for move in/move-out and visits to school. I always ask for a non smoking room and am given a room with a card on the deesser that says no smoking. Sometimes they smell like cigarettes and sometimes not. When I complained maintenance said rooms are just bombed with air freshener to make them non smoking. This stay I can't get a room that doesn't stink.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna M, General Manager at Best Western University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

I am not sure who you spoke with as all four of our maintenance men do not recall speaking with a guest regarding a room that smelled of cigarette smoke. However, our front desk staff did note that you viewed four different rooms and was unhappy with all presented. We have 10 designated smoking double rooms and 2 king smoking rooms out of 117 rooms. The entrances to each room are clearly marked smoking or non smoking and all non smoking rooms have a tent card on the tables notifying guest they are in a non smoking room and a $250.00 cleaning fee will be billed to them should they smoke in the room and we do just that. That $250.00 fee does not begin to touch the expenses incurred by this hotel since carpets are deep cleaned, drapery is dry cleaned and every piece of bedding is either washed or replaced. We have nothing to "bomb" a room with. As with any hotel it is best to call the hotel well in advance and make your reservations through the hotel to insure you get the room type you prefer rather than booking through third party sites who only guarantee the guest a room and not the specific type of room the guest requested.
If I may be of further assistance to you please feel free to call me and I am sorry we were unable to meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

We moved our son into the dorms at the University of Alabama. This hotel was convenient to the University, shopping, and many restaurants. It was a great value compared to other hotels in the area. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The pool was a nice size and very pleasant. The breakfast was the usual fare, but well maintained by staff. We plan on staying here again when we visit.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank KansasMillers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna M, General Manager at Best Western University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank you very much for taking your time to review our property. We are pleased to hear that your stay was pleasant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Stayed here because rooms were hard to come by during August Graduation at UA. Pleasantly surprised by quality of experience. Rooms were nice, beds were comfortable and room was clean. Front desk was friendly and breakfast was good, you unusually just a complimentary breakfast is pastries not eggs, bacon, pancakes, pastries, cereal, juice, yogurt, coffee. . Room was updated and in good repair.

Room Tip: Other family members stayed in other hotels in the area and had a lot of problems with noise, smelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Trip4masterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna M, General Manager at Best Western University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

We are pleased to hear that your stay at BEST WESTERN Park Plaza Motor Inn met your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope to see you again in your future visits to the Tuscaloosa area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tuscaloosa hotels
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tuscaloosa
1.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tuscaloosa Near University
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#19 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ramada Tuscaloosa
Ramada Tuscaloosa
#12 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
424 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#22 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
88 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Capstone
Hotel Capstone
#5 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western University Inn

Address: 3801 McFarland Blvd E, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405-2403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#5 Family Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#9 Business Hotel in Tuscaloosa
Price Range: $94 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Award Winning Tuscaloosa, Alabama hotel providing convenient access to key area attractions including the University of Alabama, Alabama Museum of Natural History and the Bama Belle Riverboat. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Park Plaza where guests will experience the best in award winning customer service and accommodations at an unbeatable value. Guests staying at this Tuscaloosa hotel will be conveniently near the Bryant Denny Stadium, Paul Bear Bryant Museum, the University of Alabama campus, Battle Friedman House and the Black Warrior Railroad.The BEST WESTERN Park Plaza proudly offers 117 well-appointed, newly remodeled guest rooms each complete with cable satellite television and free high-speed Internet access. Guests staying at this Alabama hotel will enjoy an array of amenities including a complimentary hot breakfast buffet (Tuscaloosa's best hotel breakfast which includes: sliced breads, bagels, croissants, muffins, doughnuts, French toast cinnamon rolls, cereal, oatmeal, grits, eggs, biscuits, gravy, sausage, fresh pancakes, fresh fruit, yogurt, coffee, milk and three juice choices. ), Tuscaloosa's largest hotel swimming pool, exercise facilities and business services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tuscaloosa
Park Plaza Tuscaloosa
Tuscaloosa Park Plaza
Tuscaloosa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing