We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Park Plaza Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Park Plaza Motor Inn
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Park Plaza is located hear almost everything in Tuscaloosa. We were on a trip to the University and found BW the most reasonable and centrally located of all the other options in the area. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    136
    53
    16
    10
See reviews for
218
76
25
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Townsend, Tennessee
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Not a fancy hotel, but a clean one. Located right off of interstate and behind O'Charley's restaurant . Close to university of Alabama ball games a short 10minute drive. Cookies and coffee available for free at night and a great breakfast . Pet friendly with snacks for the pets.
Overall a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: If traveling with a pet ask for a room on the back side,because there is a large field to walk them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheffie1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Rooms were very nice seamed to be recently updated. Nice location easy access to interstate 20. resterants were in walking distance so didnt have to drive to eat after driving all day. staff was very freindly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank nchungryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs Village, Arkansas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We recently started to travel with our dog so now we need to be aware of dog friendly lodging. The BW did accommodate our dog for an extra $10. The beds were comfortable and there was a nice area to walk the dog. O'Charley's restaurant was next door so we were able to get carry out for dinner. The staff was friendly. This is an older motel so don't expect anything fancy. We were disappointed in the cleanliness. There was certainly room for improvement in that area. Our puppy found a popcorn kernel and since we were not eating popcorn it had to be left in the room previously. They must have recently painted the room as there were paint splatters on the carpet and furniture.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GoDog514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is the second Best Western I have stayed in this year. Both I have been very much pleased. This hotel is much better than any Hampton Inn I have ever stayed. Beds are fantastic, large bar of soap, TVs have great pic quality and plenty of channels. Even the bar of soap was large enough that is didn't get lost while taking a shower. Also, the soap smelled good which I don't find in the higher quality hotels of late. I usually stay in Marriotts and Hilton hotels. Though I have a lot of points with these others I think I will start seeking out the Best Westerns.
The staff there were all fantastic very friendly and helpful. The only thing was the oatmeal for breakfast was instant. But that would not enter in my decision where to stay. This hotel is a AAA+++. Give it a try you will be glad you did. and they are less than Hampton Inn.

Room Tip: Sorry, can't help ya there. personally I most always get the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Got a good rate on the room. The staff was very friendly.

If you are a pet owner, I'd recommend the place as they advertise themselves as pet friendly and even have doggy treats at the front counter. With that said, if there were any pets there I didn't know it. They keep the place very clean.

I often hate showers in hotels but not this time. Plenty of pressure from the shower head and plenty of room to move around. Much better than your typical hotel shower.

I didn't have time to partake, but they offer a free breakfast in the mornings.

My only complaints were the bed(hard as a rock! but some people like it that way) and the WiFi doesn't reach the back of the property.

Room Tip: If noise bothers you, know that the back side of the property is adjacent to Interstate 20/59, and y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike35803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, TX
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

I had got this room via Priceline, (3 stars for $40), and had a bit of concern when I first pulled into the lot and saw that it was an older style hotel with all rooms having an outside entrance.

Check in was friendly and efficient, and the room had been recently updated, with GREAT beds, frig, and flat screen. The shower was spotless, with an excellent shower head, and unlimited hot water.

Stay here and sleep well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank txrubbbbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tuscaloosa hotels
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tuscaloosa
3.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Tuscaloosa Downtown University Boulevard
1.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tuscaloosa Near University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ramada Tuscaloosa
Ramada Tuscaloosa
#17 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
3.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Tuscaloosa
Wingate by Wyndham Tuscaloosa
#10 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#18 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Park Plaza Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Park Plaza Motor Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Park Plaza Motor Inn
Address: 3801 McFarland Blvd E, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#5 Family Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#9 Business Hotel in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Park Plaza Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Award Winning Tuscaloosa, Alabama hotel providing convenient access to key area attractions including the University of Alabama, Alabama Museum of Natural History and the Bama Belle Riverboat. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Park Plaza where guests will experience the best in award winning customer service and accommodations at an unbeatable value. Guests staying at this Tuscaloosa hotel will be conveniently near the Bryant Denny Stadium, Paul Bear Bryant Museum, the University of Alabama campus, Battle Friedman House and the Black Warrior Railroad.The BEST WESTERN Park Plaza proudly offers 117 well-appointed, newly remodeled guest rooms each complete with cable satellite television and free high-speed Internet access. Guests staying at this Alabama hotel will enjoy an array of amenities including a complimentary hot breakfast buffet (Tuscaloosa's best hotel breakfast which includes: sliced breads, bagels, croissants, muffins, doughnuts, French toast cinnamon rolls, cereal, oatmeal, grits, eggs, biscuits, gravy, sausage, fresh pancakes, fresh fruit, yogurt, coffee, milk and three juice choices. ), Tuscaloosa's largest hotel swimming pool, exercise facilities and business services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Park Plaza Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tuscaloosa
Park Plaza Tuscaloosa
Tuscaloosa Best Western
Tuscaloosa Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing