We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western University Inn
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Made reservation about 2 hours prior to arriving, upon checking in Julia was able to give us a ground floor which I had forgotten to request (she was friendly & welcoming). This is an older property but fairly recently updated. Location is a little difficult to get to as it is behind a restaurant with no direct access.

Comfortable enough room and good value.

Breakfast had usual variety but PLEASE get stronger plastic ware, knife wouldn't even cut the waffle, just bent over.

Upon calling next morning to check out front desk took a very long time to answer the phone.

All-in-all for an overnight stay this was fine and we would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank najune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillinAlabaster, General Manager at Best Western University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

thanks for your comments! we have worked with Sysco, our breakfast provider to locate a better quality plasticware for breakfast. Comments like yours help us improve our service to our guests. Thanks for your help!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (475)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

441 - 447 of 475 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2012

The hotel is old but fairly well kept up. It's a little hard to get to from one direction. The Internet
works OK. The breakfast leaves a lot to b desired. They do not have brewed coffee. There is no boiled eggs or yogurts.

Room Tip: O Charlie's is a short walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

For the most part the hotel appears to have been recently updated. The rooms were clean. The staff was nice and helpful. The breakfast was the usual but the sausage gravy was better than most. The afternoon warm cookies were a great pleaser. I would like to see them spend a little more money and invest in new matresses ours was as hard as a rock.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bsbeehler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My first impression is that this is a very old motel that has been turned in to a Best Western. The first room we had the telephone didn't work. The bathroom was too small for a walker or a wheelchair to fit into. The room was very clean and the staff was wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marburg759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I really like this best western, they are doing renovations right now and the hotel will be even nicer. we checked it at 1 pm and they gladly accomadated our early check in. The staff is lovely and always has a smile for you. They serve a hot breakfast (biscuits, gravy, eggs, sausage, waffles, cereal, pastries), the breakfast staff keeps everything clean and filled. We have 2 dogs and there is only a 10 dollar per day charge.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geri122123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I was there during A-DAy weekend to surprise my daughter for her birthday an to participate in the sorority parent weekend. I was in and out of my room and did not see anything like what has been mentioned in another post. I have stayed at 4 other hotels in the area for various weekends and this was by fr my favorite. I will definitely be staying here any chance I get when visiting my daughter. I felt no qualms at all about having a carful of her stuff I was bringing home and a bike on the back in the parking lot. The staff was all friendly and the room was clean and a nice size.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ti2gerzgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

My folks stayed here overnight and they were pleased with this facility. They said it was convenient and very nice. They were happy with the flat screen tv, clean sheets, nice bathroom and the staff. It was a bit awkward to get into from the street though. They had to go back and forth and finally did a u-turn they weren't sure they should be doing, but that actually worked and they got in. Despite that, they would stay here again!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank MiddyBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tuscaloosa hotels
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tuscaloosa
1.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tuscaloosa Near University
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#19 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ramada Tuscaloosa
Ramada Tuscaloosa
#13 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
426 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#22 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
88 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Capstone
Hotel Capstone
#5 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western University Inn

Address: 3801 McFarland Blvd E, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405-2403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#5 Family Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#9 Business Hotel in Tuscaloosa
Price Range: $94 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Award Winning Tuscaloosa, Alabama hotel providing convenient access to key area attractions including the University of Alabama, Alabama Museum of Natural History and the Bama Belle Riverboat. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Park Plaza where guests will experience the best in award winning customer service and accommodations at an unbeatable value. Guests staying at this Tuscaloosa hotel will be conveniently near the Bryant Denny Stadium, Paul Bear Bryant Museum, the University of Alabama campus, Battle Friedman House and the Black Warrior Railroad.The BEST WESTERN Park Plaza proudly offers 117 well-appointed, newly remodeled guest rooms each complete with cable satellite television and free high-speed Internet access. Guests staying at this Alabama hotel will enjoy an array of amenities including a complimentary hot breakfast buffet (Tuscaloosa's best hotel breakfast which includes: sliced breads, bagels, croissants, muffins, doughnuts, French toast cinnamon rolls, cereal, oatmeal, grits, eggs, biscuits, gravy, sausage, fresh pancakes, fresh fruit, yogurt, coffee, milk and three juice choices. ), Tuscaloosa's largest hotel swimming pool, exercise facilities and business services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tuscaloosa
Park Plaza Tuscaloosa
Tuscaloosa Park Plaza
Tuscaloosa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing