We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sub Par for a Marriott Property” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Tuscaloosa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Tuscaloosa
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Gurnee, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sub Par for a Marriott Property”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Got a room through Priceline. Must have been why we were given the room next to the elevator on a night where the hotel was fairly empty. We could hear the elevator and something else (ice machine?) all night -- like nails on a chalkboard. In hindsight, we should have asked to switch, but when you are tired from travelling the last thing you want to do is to get dressed, pack up your things, and change rooms.

The hotel is a bit dated in decor. The bed was not very comfortable. The internet connection was slow.

The staff was pleasant and courteous.

For the money, and factoring in the lack of an included continental breakfast and no coffee in the lobby except for a few hours at breakfast, there are better choices in T-town.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank RMFTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    35
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
38
12
3
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, MS
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

The only negative is that our room, which had a balcony, was facing the interstate so a bit loud. Otherwise, great room w nice stand up shower, great staff who accommodated a late check out, and a nice workout room overlooking the indoor pool.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julesthetraveler001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

A sudden family event required a five night stay in Tuscaloosa, AL. I have stayed in the city previously, but had made the Hampton Inn close to the university my preferred hotel. The Courtyard Marriott had a better rate and as it is just off the interstate, made it easier to go back and forth to the smaller rural town I needed to spend time in. My original booking was for two nights ( Wed& Thurs) in a regular king room, but I was able to extend the reservation into five nights and upgrade to a suite room ( to accommodate wife and kids) in a very easy and efficient way. The rate change , with a AAA discount, went from $119 to $139.

The staff is extremely polite ( southern hospitality!) and well trained. The hotel does a made-to-order breakfast in the morning ( about $9 ) and an evening happy hour with hot appetizers and cocktails. ( drinks were about $6 ).

I would highly recommend this hotel because of the location to local restaurants ( mostly chains), stores, shopping, hospital, the college, etc. Tuscaloosa is an hour from the Birmingham airport. Having a comfortable place to rest and relax during the stressful days there made a tremendous difference and I would certainly stay at the Courtyard again.

Room Tip: There is a morning train that passes through the area during weekday mornings. My first room was on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Farmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

stayed one night on our way from New Orleans to Atlanta

nice, clean and quite hotel (our room is not facing to highway)

keep motorcycle in front of the gate so we slept well without thinking motorcycle's safety

lot of restaurants close by

Room Tip: ask room not facing highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oznar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Courtyard Tuscaloosa, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We always strive to present the best possible experience for every guest, everytime. Thank you for staying with us and I hope you had a great trip to New Orleans. We hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hanover, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Enjoyed my stay. Beds were super comfy and clean .very close to the University of Alabama and shopping. We stayed here when moving our daughter into college. Two thumbs up. Great little food area when you walk in . Hot breakfast but slow service. Woman who takes your order is a sweetheart. RollnTide

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Courtyard Tuscaloosa, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, and it was our pleasure having you with us!! At the Courtyard Tuscaloosa, we always do everything we can to make each individual guest experience more enjoyable. We look forward to having you back again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed here for one night because I had to extend our stay and the hotel we'd been in was full. It's lovely. The beds and pillows are very comfortable and the bathroom was exceptionally clean. The ladies at the front desk were extremely helpful and friendly. It doesn't offer breakfast but that didn't bother me at all - there are plenty of places to eat. There is a pool and a gym, so next time I'll come prepared.. Check out is at noon, which was helpful. Most places have check out at 11. They slipped my invoice under the door so that I didn't have to do anything in the morning other than pack up and leave. I would stay here again without question.

Green Features: I love this! I've never seen the need to have fresh towels every day on a multi-night-stay.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
526 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Good rooms, nicely appointed. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The rooms are large. It's kind of a hard hotel to find but I enjoyed it when I found it. It's close to the University, shopping and restaurants. I'll be back

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adam-kelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tuscaloosa hotels
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Tuscaloosa
SpringHill Suites Tuscaloosa
#13 of 34 in Tuscaloosa
4.5 of 5 stars 47 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Tuscaloosa
Fairfield Inn Tuscaloosa
#12 of 34 in Tuscaloosa
4.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
3.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Tuscaloosa Downtown University Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tuscaloosa
3.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tuscaloosa Alabama Downtown
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa-University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Tuscaloosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Tuscaloosa

Property: Courtyard Tuscaloosa
Address: 4115 Courtney Drive, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#8 Business Hotel in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Tuscaloosa 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for hotels in Tuscaloosa, then you'll love the beautiful Courtyard Tuscaloosa. Our Tuscaloosa, AL hotel is located off I-59 and I-20, near the University of Alabama and Bryant-Denny Stadium - home of Crimson Tide football. We're also close to the Mercedes-Benz factory, as well as Phifer, Brose, Faurecia and Hunt Refining. Great attractions like the Paul Bryant Museum, Kentuck Art Center, and Stillman College are also close by. Our Tuscaloosa hotel features free Wi-Fi and 32" flat-screen TVs in every guest room. Our new lobby boasts media pod booths and a 52" GoBoard touch-screen TV. The Bistro offers delicious breakfasts and dinners with beverages from Starbucks and our full bar. Eat. Drink. Connect. Relax in our indoor pool or burn calories in the fitness room. If you're planning an event, let us know - our versatile space hosts up to 40. Few hotels in Tuscaloosa can match our attention to detail, so make a reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard Tuscaloosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Tuscaloosa Hotel Tuscaloosa
Tuscaloosa Marriott
Tuscaloosa Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing