We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice Hotel, Not Far from the Campus” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Not Far from the Campus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

Good hotel with everything that you'd expect from a Hampton.
Nothing extra; but nothing that takes away from the stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Summerstime1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    92
    33
    7
    10
See reviews for
129
71
24
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PEARLAND
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2008

We arrived at the hotel after midnight after a long day on the road. The front desk person greeted us like she was inviting us into her own home. She was incredibly friendly and made sure we had everything we needed before we turned in for the night. The room was very spacious and clean. The beds were the most comfortable I have ever experienced in a hotel. Will definitely stay here again when we pass through the area.

  • Liked — Great staff
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pearlandtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2008

I had a reservation for three nights at this hotel but ended up staying only one. The Internet was down the entire first evening and into the next day, and the staff had no idea what was wrong or when it would be fixed. So I checked out after the first night, checking with the desk clerk twice to make sure that she was canceling my reservation for the next two nights. And guess what? My credit card statement shows they charged me for three nights.

This place is pretty dismal. The A/C apparently was not working in the lobby and they had a fan going (it was 100 degrees outside). The breakfast was mediocre. The staff seemed ill-informed. The rooms are in need of renovation. There's no desk in the room at which to work -- just a little round table that will hold a laptop and not much else. You can do a lot better at the Holiday Inn Express, which is where I ended up.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bluecrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler
Level Contributor
176 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2008

This Hampton Inn was as good as any other I have stayed in. It had everything one would expect from a Hampton. I was only here for a few hours to get some sleep and that's about it. It did seem clean and safe here but I didn't really check any amenities ie: business centre, pool et al. The bed, shower, and breakfast were all good and that's all that mattered on this day.

  • Liked — I like the Hampton's bed and breakfast.
  • Disliked — Room was little 'sparse'.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozcfied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2007

I found hotel staff to be the most courteous and friendly staff I have every encountered. The hotel room was spacious, clean and quite comfortable. The reason for my trip was not a pleasant one but the staff made it so welcoming that it brought great relief to our visit. It will now be my hotel of choice when in the Tuscaloosa area.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kittle2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOCA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2007

In my experience, Hampton properties are either a cut above the norm, or sever cuts below standard. This property unfortunately belongs to the latter. The lobby was was perfectly fine and the staff friendly and helpful. The room, though was very run down and dated. The walls had markings on them, the carpet was badly stained, the bathroom tub and tile was so old that even though it had been cleaned, still looked dirty. The sheets had rust stains, probably from the dryer, but were never changed during the 3 nights I was there. I used the ironing board, the first night, but it wasn't put away until 2 days later.

As far as location, it is fairly easy to get to, right off of 59. There are several places to get gas and food nearby. It's approximately 10-20 minutes from the University and other main shopping centers/restaurants. I did not have the complimentary hot breakfast, but there were plenty of guests who did, and it looked fine.

Overall, the stay was "ok", but I rate the property as overpriced. At just under $90 @ night, in the middle of west Alabama, I think you should get more.

  • Stayed March 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tynkility
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tclbmhampton, Manager at Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East, responded to this review, July 17, 2007
We thank you very much for your feedback on your recent stay at the Hampton Inn East Tuscaloosa. We just received an "Outstanding" on our most recent Quality Assurance evaluation. Your experience certainly do not meet our expectation of operational excellence. Please know that we will take your review and do our very best to improve in each area you pointed out. Your stay does not reflect the many positive experiences we provide each day to our guests. If you would like to discuss this more please feel free to call me at 205-562-9000. We hope to have the opportunity to "Take Care" of you in the future.

Best regards - always!

Angie Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2006

After visiting this hotel with my family, I had to write a review. The staff went out of their way to be sure we were comfortable. The beds were fabulous and the rooms were clean. May look as if they are on the outskirts, but jump on the interstate and you can be anywhere in Tuscaloosa within minutes. Great breakfast too. I highly recommend this hotel and plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank craig6787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tuscaloosa hotels
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa-University
7.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Tuscaloosa Downtown University Boulevard
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tuscaloosa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#17 of 34 in Tuscaloosa
4.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
7.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tuscaloosa Alabama Downtown
5.7 mi away
Hotel Capstone
Hotel Capstone
#6 of 34 in Tuscaloosa
4.5 of 5 stars 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East

Property: Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East
Address: 6400 Interstate Dr, Tuscaloosa, AL 35453-1950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#3 Family Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#6 Business Hotel in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa-East is initially inviting to our guests because of the nice landscaping around our hotel. The masonry exterior provides our guests with the comfort of knowing the great quality of our hotel's structure. The covered drive in front of the hotel makes loading and unloading even more convenient for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East Hotel Tuscaloosa
Tuscaloosa Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing