We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great price, and good breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This Hampton Inn was a great place to stay! The hotel was very crowded, but the staff was wonderful even though they were busy. The room was very nice and very clean, no complaints at all. The breakfast was very good and they had an evening snack of milk and cookies. I would stay here again and it is in a great location!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lcgovols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard T, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to respond to Trip Advisor in regards to your recent stay with us at the Hampton Inn-East. We are pleased to hear that your stay met your expectations, and look forward to your next visit with us. Our goal is to provide value to each and every guest through a high level of service, quality and cleanliness. If there is anything further you would like to add or suggest feel free to contact the hotel. In addition we will discuss your feedback with our team. Thank you again. Have a wonderful day!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

407 - 413 of 459 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

The hotel is beginning to show some wear, but was very clean. The staff was about the friendliest I've encountered, especially the front desk clerks and the young gentleman who ran the breakfast area. I spilled waffle mix and he didn't miss a beat -- he just cleaned it up and made me feel totally at ease with it. The breakfast offering was well stocked. I liked the little touch of the cleaning staff leaving a post-it note telling us that the sheets and duvet cover were freshly laundered.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard T, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to respond to Trip Advisor in regards to your recent stay with us at the Hampton Inn-East. We are pleased to hear that your stay met your expectations, and look forward to your next visit with us. If there is anything further you would like to add or suggest feel free to contact the hotel. In addition we will discuss your feedback with our team. Thank you again. Have a wonderful day!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Hotel was able to accommodate me with room request even though I called from the road. The cookies were out & it was good choice for getting off road. I left too early to check out the breakfast. Only problem was greeting with smoke smell on entry; figured it out in the morning as the smoking area was right outside the door & carried into the front of the lobby. Would stay again given the opportunity.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hatchetsup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard T, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Thank you for recent stay at the Hampton Inn-East. Your feedback is valuable to us, and we appreciate the time you took to complete this survey. I am pleased that your stay went well, and I wanted to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced in regards to guest smoking toward our entrance area. We will re-visit the current smoking areas, and may make some adjustments based on this information. If there is anything further you would like to add or suggest, please contact the hotel directly. It would be our pleasure to have the chance to gather any more information that will contribute to our pursuit of excellence. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future. Have a wonderful day!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Pleasantly surprised by the great, super friendly staff and the cleanliness for a roadside Hampton Inn. The bed was one of the best we've had in a long time. We travel about 80 to 100 nights yearly, so we know hotel beds! The shower had great pressure and most importantly, it was very quiet. We were worried as it was BCS championship night in Tuscaloosa, but the party downstairs was quite respectful. The breakfast food was cooked well and fresh.

We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Turtle1313a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard T, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Thank you for your recent stay at The Hampton-Inn East. We are pleased to hear that your stay met your expectations, and we appreciate the time you took to complete this survey. Our goal is to provide clean rooms, and excellent customer service. This creates value for each and every guest. We look forward to the opportunity to host you again in the near future. Thanks again, have a wonderful day!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed here as a meeting point to exchange family members and was greeted by a very friendly staff. Room was very clean and the breakfast was hot and plentiful. Nice location just outside Tuscaloosa that has a few restaurant choices close by and easy access to I-20.

Room Tip: If you are a smoker plan ahead as they only have a limited amount of smoking rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTRaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard T, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

We appreciate the time you took to provide us with some feedback about your stay. Our mission is to provide excellent service, clean rooms, and friendly smiles. I'm glad that hear that your experience was not short of our goals. We will continue to strive for customer service excellence while adding value to our guest. Have a wonderful Holiday Season. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I’ll start off by saying that I’m a Hampton junkie. I usually stay at a Hampton at least once or twice a month. I admit it: There are good and bad Hamptons out there. Luckily, this is definitely one of the good ones.

We traveled from North Carolina to visit family in Tuscaloosa. We checked in to the Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa-East on 12/21 and left on 12/23. This hotel is on the smaller side, but is still nice. The lobby was recently renovated and it’s beautiful. The staff – everyone from the front desk clerk at 1 a.m. to the housekeeping team – was very happy and nice.

The hotel is right off of the interstate, convenient to some chain restaurants like Ruby Tuesday and Pizza Hut. To me, it looks like most of the hotel’s guests stay only one night, as they stop en route to their final destination.

The rooms were probably updated within the past few years. Standard amenities include flat-screen TVs, microwaves and mini-fridges. Definitely clean and well-kept. Great water pressure in the shower.

I’d stay at the Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa-East again. I hope the hotel renovates the bathroom in each guest room before my next visit. It’s easy to tell that the bathrooms are original. Also, the hotel needs to retile the elevator, as the tiles and grout are cracking.

Room Tip: Stay in an odd-numbered room. They're on the back side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJFreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard T, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Thank you for your response, We appreciate your valued feedback, and it is very pleasant to hear that our facility, staff and service met your expeactations. We look forward to your next visit, and it was a pleasure to have you as a guest. Thank you very much, have a safe and Happy Holiday season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We originally were driving from New Orleans to Knoxville, TN with reservations at a Hampton in Birmingham, AL to spend the night and continue on the next day. Due to a very late start and horrible weather and storms, there was just no way we could make it all the way to Birmingham. I called the property there right before the 6 p.m. deadline to cancel our reservation and asked for numbers in the Tuscaloosa area. Kudos to the Birmingham staff for helping me out. I then called and reserved a room at this property, and spoke to a very nice and helpful person. I am SO glad I did. It was right off the Interstate and close to several restaurants. We were welcomed by a great employee, Curtis, who was very pleasant and helpful, (and the one who I spoke to to make the reservation) and gave us bottled water and suggestions for dining. This was very welcome after a horrible trip thru raging storms and darkness. We ended up at the Ruby Tuesday next door which is in walking distance. Our room was very clean and well-appointed. The bed was nice and comfortable. Breakfast the next morning was better than average for this type of "free breakfast". There were more choices, and the food was excellent. The lady working the breakfast area was great, and we tracked her down to leave her a nice tip, as she went above and beyond. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joygulf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tuscaloosa hotels
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa-University
4.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tuscaloosa
5.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tuscaloosa
Hilton Garden Inn Tuscaloosa
#8 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#19 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
149 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Capstone
Hotel Capstone
#5 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
313 reviews
4.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tuscaloosa Near University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East

Address: 6400 Interstate Dr, Tuscaloosa, AL 35453-1950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#3 Family Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#6 Business Hotel in Tuscaloosa
Price Range: $104 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa-East is initially inviting to our guests because of the nice landscaping around our hotel. The masonry exterior provides our guests with the comfort of knowing the great quality of our hotel's structure. The covered drive in front of the hotel makes loading and unloading even more convenient for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East Hotel Tuscaloosa
Tuscaloosa Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing