We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Friendly Staff - Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa-University
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Certificate of Excellence
Owens Cross Roads, Alabama
Level Contributor
262 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Friendly Staff - Great Stay”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

The staff at this hotel is friendly and helpful, especially the night desk manager. The room felt brand-new and was entirely clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay here if in the area again. We arrived during a snow storm. The staff went out of its way to help.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyDonor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    120
    29
    8
    5
See reviews for
275
55
33
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Hampton with family there for Alabama softball games. It was a nice hotel but nothing too spectacular. What made it great was the customer service we received. Almost everybody was warm, heplful, and welcoming. Except for a gentleman working in the evenings. But he in no way distracts from the other 5 front desk agents. Especially Krystal and the night auditor. Both were great. One thing that needs improvement I would say would be better seating at breakfasr. It is a very small room with inadequate seating.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank rovingnomad06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We arrived prior to check in time. Front desk staff were pretty curt, did not offer maps or something to so. Had to ask for one. They should have taken a cell number to call us when room was ready.(we just drove straight 12 hours there). So, we drove around university of Alabama, , and found a place for a late lunch. When we came back a very friendly welcoming female desk clerk was ready for us! We did have a room by the elevators (noisy), but room was very clean, comfortable, updated. We stayed two days touring the university and finding our way around. Look forward to staying there again. Great location.

Room Tip: Not near elevator. Housekeepers noisy... But they do a great job!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimF29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Rooms were very clean and staff was very helpful. I have no complaints. It is located near the University of Alabama and is just as good as the Capstone hotel on the campus. the commute to the campus was less the five minutes. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Hope N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Location was central to the city of Tuscaloosa and North Port and to the University of Alabama. The hotel facilities were very well maintained and modern. The staff was very professional yet warm and welcoming. Our double queen guest room was very clean and fresh as was the on-suite bath. The front desk responded to any of our requests with friendliness and speed. Great stay over all.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We were supposed to stay two nights, but got stranded in an ice storm at a rest area in northern Alabama for the first night. The hotel staff was amazing and kept our room for us until our arrival 20 hours late. Very nice Hampton Inn and friendliest staff ever!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Dottie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I had a wonderful stay at the Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa. The staff was wonderful - very friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean, the amenities were perfect and I had a great hot breakfast in the morning. This hotel is a very short distance from the University of Alabama which is great for visitors. Highly Recommend this Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tuscaloosa hotels
2.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Tuscaloosa Downtown University Boulevard
1.0 mi away
Hotel Capstone
Hotel Capstone
#5 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
293 reviews
2.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tuscaloosa Alabama Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tuscaloosa
2.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Tuscaloosa Downtown
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa-University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa-University

Property: Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa-University
Address: 600 Harper Lee Dr, Tuscaloosa, AL 35404-2981
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#1 Business Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa-University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa-University is an interior corridor property. We have newly refurbished rooms, corridors and lobby. Beautifully landscaped, nicely enclosed breakfast room, outdoor pool, well-lit parking lot and conveniently located near The University of Alabama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa-University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn - University Hotel Tuscaloosa
Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa
Tuscaloosa Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing