We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great place for the Game!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa-University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa-University to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa-University
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Harper Lee Drive, Tuscaloosa, AL 35404   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STOP CLICKING AROUND
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Certificate of Excellence
Deatsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place for the Game!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Nice, clean hotel within walking distance of Alabam's football stadium. I went up to watch the game and stayed here. Once you consider the free parking, free breakfast and complimentary game program, it's quite a deal. Baumhower's restaurant is next door...great place to grab a bite to eat. Overall, I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B52Moose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    90
    21
    6
    5
See reviews for
191
37
20
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Axis, Alabama
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Clean hotel, Great location, Good breakfast, Free internet, Adequate parking, Friendly staff. Quiet location. Stayed here for a Bama game. Front desk staff was friendly. Would stay here again. Fast checkin process. Restaurants very close - within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My son and I stayed here when we toured Bryant-Denny stadium. It is a very quiet location and very clean hotel. After our long drive, it was a great surprise to see Baumhower's Restaurant right next door! The staff was efficient, though we were there for a very short time, we could not have been more pleased!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S1bamafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Market, TN, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Everything about this hotel was exactly as expected. Hampton Inns are consistently the favorite for my travels. During one of my visits I forgot a pricy bottle of special scalp conditioner. Unfortunatley they through it away but said they would gladly replaceme it. Upon my following trip I went to the salon and bought another bottle, came back to the hotel and spoke with the manager and within 2 minutes I received an apology (unnecessary) and a re-imbursment. Amazing customer service and the best beds in the business.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I have been a frequent guest at this location for a number of years and it has always been a great experiene to stay here. There is an excellent staff here and the front desk people are always nice and fiendly and when the experience of check in is good it sets the tone for the stay, and that has always been a great experience here at the Hampton on McFarland. I really enjoy this hotel and the location of the hotel is very convenient. Even though it is not beside an Interstate highway , it is very easy to get out of town in the morning if you need to. I also enjoy the Baumhowers Restaurant next door, it is close enough to walk and it is a great place too. I actually enjoy the fact that the hotel is not by an Interstate Highway.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, GA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

A clean and well maintained Hampton with friendly and efficient staff. My dissapointment was that there are very limited rooms with a tub--all King rooms have a shower only. Convenient location for access to the University of Alabama.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank MountainTraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metairie
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed here for move out last year, and anxiously called for an opening for Parents Weekend, which came available at the month cancellation deadline.

Well worth the price. Not only was the hotel still in great shape, with fantastic breakfast and the most comfortable beds, and an awesome shower, but the staff really went above and beyond for the gameday experience.

Plenty of newspapers and game programs available, as well as flyers about parking, shuttles, events going on.

We got reserved gameday parking, so no problem when it was raining in the morning on gameday. We enjoyed a wonderful breakfast that tied us over until Parents Weekend tailgate.

When we returned from the game, they had a wonderful spread of sandwiches, cookies and drinks for us.

They knew all the guests by name, and obviously a favorite of alums and their families.

We've got our room booked for graduation, and will stay here for visits during the school year and drop off and pick up during breaks.

If you're new to Bama, treat yourself to a stay at this hotel, even not during football season, to experience the nicest hotel in the Tuscaloosa area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Montegut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tuscaloosa hotels
2.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Tuscaloosa Downtown University Boulevard
2.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tuscaloosa Alabama Downtown
1.0 mi away
Hotel Capstone
Hotel Capstone
#6 of 34 in Tuscaloosa
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tuscaloosa
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East
Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East
#5 of 34 in Tuscaloosa
4.5 of 5 stars 334 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa-University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa-University

Property: Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa-University
Address: 600 Harper Lee Drive, Tuscaloosa, AL 35404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#1 Family Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa-University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa-University is an interior corridor property. We have newly refurbished rooms, corridors and lobby. Beautifully landscaped, nicely enclosed breakfast room, outdoor pool, well-lit parking lot and conveniently located near The University of Alabama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa-University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn - University Hotel Tuscaloosa
Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa
Tuscaloosa Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing