We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Bama Campus, but grounds need updating” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa
Ranked #28 of 35 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Mullica Hill, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Close to Bama Campus, but grounds need updating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We recently moved my son out of the University and needed a close place to stay. It is right off McFarland Blvd and close to multiple shops and restaurants, however the hotel is not in the nicest location as it sits behind a car wash and Chinese restaurant. The staff, however, were quite nice and the beds were comfortable.The hotel is quite compact and parking is very tight -especially with larger vehicles.

Room Tip: It's a bit quieter in the back of the hotel near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    62
    56
    68
    107
See reviews for
156
55
27
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merryville
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Travelling east and ended up in Tuscaloosa looking for a room after 9-10pm. Stopped at the Welcome Center and picked up a Hotel Coupon book to use on a room. It was a Thursday night and the coupon was refused at the desk due to an event in Tuscaloosa that weekend. It was Thursday, not the weekend. Lucky break for me because I ended up at the Wingate after booking an Express Deal on Priceline. Much better quality hotel for less than what I would have paid full price for Laquinta. I would think better to rent a room late at night for the coupon rate than lose the sale altogether but what do I know. LaQuinta's loss was by good fortune.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DR12trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Level Contributor
513 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We were just passing through and needed a pet friendly place. The bonus was that there was no extra fee for our 8 pound dog. We had a nice king room. It was very clean and the bed was comfy. The motel was older but it was very adequate and close to the interstate and lots of restaurant choices nearby. Friendly staff. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side, near pool. They aren't facing the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood, Arkansas
Level Contributor
123 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

This place is right off the interstate ... convenient, BUT extremely noisy. And it's in dire need of an upgrade. I've stayed in many La Quintas but this particular one is going by the wayside ...almost as bad as Motel 6. Bathtub was disgusting.... I think it's also a home for many shady characters. Lots of people noise, shouting, etc. in the wee hours of the morning. At checkout, they could not give me a receipt because the printer was down.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Walklady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

On a busy weekend at The University of Alabama, we were lucky to find a room at LaQuinta in Tuscaloosa. Located on McFarland Blvd right off I-59, the hotel is conveniently located to restaurants, shopping, and U of A. We requested a handicapped accessible room. The room was conveniently located by the office and the buffet area. It was very clean and had a nice TV and super-comfortable beds. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

I chose this motel because I was traveling with my cat, moving him from Cincy to my daughter's house in New Orleans. All LaQuintas are pet friendly (except for 4 in the entire country, I think.) The location was good (except for being a little hard to find back behind a couple other businesses), room was average, front desk person was friendly and helpful. Their pool area looked very nice, altho I did not use it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank treewoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have stayed at other affordable hotels but La Quinta Inn was without a doubt the worst! Room service came in at 10 am on my first stay even though I had prepaid for 2 nights and check out times are at noon. Since I was sleeping I told them to come back, and they never did, they didnt even leave clean towels. When I reported this to the front desk, I was told to come get my towels in person.

I was also very dissatisfied with the breakfast. All they had was 1 waffle machine for everyone, so you can imagine the long line and wait.

I do not recommend this hotel at all!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Calia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tuscaloosa hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Tuscaloosa
Ramada Tuscaloosa
#17 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#18 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#27 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa
Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa
#16 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
1.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Tuscaloosa
SpringHill Suites Tuscaloosa
#12 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tuscaloosa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa

Property: La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa
Address: 4122 McFarland Blvd E, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405-3833
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 35 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, LaQuinta, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Tuscaloosa Hotel Tuscaloosa
Tuscaloosa La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing