We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Buyer Beware” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa
Ranked #27 of 34 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Enterprise, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Buyer Beware”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I am a loyal La Quinta Returns member.

The good news - The front desk staff is friendly and helpful. This completes the positive comment section.

The bad news – There are only 5 vague pictures of this hotel on the official website for a reason. They do not want you to know how shockingly old and dilapidated this hotel really is. First, the hotel is an old style motor lodge with room access from the outside. So, safety is a concern. Second, after opening the room door you are greeted with an awful odor that hits you like a sledge hammer. The best way to describe it is “sweetly perfumed decay”. It’s apparent that an attempt has been made to hide the mildew smell that exists in the carpets and walls. Third, there are no amenities here folks. No microwave, fridge, fitness facility, etc. Additionally, you can easily link to their free wireless but the internet connectivity was out 75% of the time.

The really bad news- They price gauge for all University of Alabama home football games. To be fair most Tuscaloosa hotels do, but $245.00 a night for this place??? Come on!

Stay somewhere else people.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OBwon30509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    60
    56
    66
    104
See reviews for
152
53
27
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guam, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
209 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

My husband, our two cats, and I syayed here just one night as we moved across the country. I used my La Quinta rewards points and this place only cost 4,000 or 6,000 points.

We arrived after midnight and were greated by the front desk clerk. She helped me find the nearest Wal-Mart which was only a few minutes away. There were several restaurants and shopping locations nearby, including a waffle house and grocery store which were both in walking distance.

The room featured two queen/full beds, a TV, small closet with luggage stand, hangers, and laundry bag, a desk/small dining table, alarm clock, mini-fridge, shampoo and soap, instant coffee maker, and a shower and toilet in a separate room from the sink. Best of all, there was complimentary breakfast and up to two pets can stay for FREE!

Breakfast included blueberry and banana nut pre-packaged muffins, hard-boiled eggs, make-your-own waffles, toast, cereal, coffee, and apple and orange juice. There was plenty of seating for breakfast and you could watch the news while eating.

The hotel is definitely older, includes exterior entraces (you just walk up to your hotel room door from the outside, there are no interior hallways) and does not have any fancy decor, but it served the purpose we needed. There was room to park our U-Haul truck.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foxegurl266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Lobby and room smelled like cigarette smoke. Floors were not clean. Need to tear this one down and start over. Difficulty getting to hotel. This is not a place anyone should stay. Not up to LaQuinta standards.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
2 Thank Gadabout68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perdido, Alabama
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The hotel is located behind old restaurants so you see all of their trash and dumpsters. The guy at the front desk was very nice and stayed very busy. The lobby and hallway/stairs looked kinda dirty, like the carpet needed to be replaced. Our room's carpet was the same way. Walking on the carpet made your socks black. The tv is nice but the channels went out for about 30 minutes. The front guy said that he couldn't do anything about it. The beds were comfortable and looked like they had clean linens. The bathtub looked a little dingy. The toilet had a loose seat and didn't flush good. Our door's deadbolt wouldn't lock but we felt we were in a safe area. We didn't use the pool. I saw other guest with their dogs so it is a pet friendly hotel. The breakfast didn't look good so we didn't eat any. We did try the apple juice and it was horrible. It tasted like sugar water. The lady at the front desk told us that she couldn't do anything about it because it came premixed. Overall, the hotel is okay for an overnight stay but it is in dire need of upgrading.

Room Tip: If you don't want a room that might of had a dog in it, you should ask for a second floor room b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dobeydoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tuscaloosa hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#26 of 34 in Tuscaloosa
3.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Tuscaloosa
Ramada Tuscaloosa
#19 of 34 in Tuscaloosa
3.0 of 5 stars 306 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Tuscaloosa - University of Alabama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#17 of 34 in Tuscaloosa
4.0 of 5 stars 129 reviews
1.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tuscaloosa
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa
Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa
#16 of 34 in Tuscaloosa
4.5 of 5 stars 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa

Property: La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa
Address: 4122 McFarland Blvd E, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405-3833
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 34 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Tuscaloosa Hotel Tuscaloosa
Tuscaloosa La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing