We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ramada Tuscaloosa
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Capstone(Tuscaloosa)
$169
$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
$75
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Tuscaloosa(Tuscaloosa)
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Centerstone Inn & Suites(Tuscaloosa)(Great Value!)
$65
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$188
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites(Tuscaloosa)(Great Value!)
$102
$97
ComfortSuites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western University Inn(Tuscaloosa)(Great Value!)
$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (461)
Filter reviews
461 results
Traveler rating
150
111
81
49
70
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
150
111
81
49
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleannight manageran overnight staycontinental breakfaststaff was very friendlynice stayin townfront desk clerkwafflesgreat place to stayhueyuagameuniversityinterstate
Filter
Updating list...
403 - 408 of 461 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Ramada Inns certainly aren’t upscale, yet this one just four miles from the University of Alabama campus has much to commend it. Each room has an iron and ironing board plus a refrigerator and microwave . A large art reproduction hangs over the bed, with a 32 inch Samsung widescreen TV above the dresser. Outside the swimming pool, ranging from three to six feet deep, is well maintained. The lobby impresses, with nice furniture and carpeting. Two spiraling staircases take you to the second floor. At the top of the staircase stands a beautiful wooden book case, elegant and classy. (sadly, no books on the shelves to read). The continental breakfast has the normal bagels, small pastries, cold cereals and instant oatmeal; it also has a nice do-it -yourself wafflemaker, for fresh, fluffy Belgian waffles.
But three surprises made our overall night a disappointing experience. The TV features either wavy lines or slight snow on cable channels 1-10.We gave up watching CBS, ABC, and CBS and a few local channels, but fortunately we could see clearly any of the other twenty-some stations. Second, our door would open from the outside only with a good shoulder shove or, in the case of my teen son, a hip check. I thought this was due to southern humidity on these exterior entrances, but in the morning at 7 a.m., we still could not open the door without a huge push. I reported this to the front desk person; he expressed regrets but didn’t immediately fix it. Third, the toilet-tank stopper would not reset after a flush, causing an all-night running toilet. The bathroom had a nice shower head, but the caulking at the top of the shower is separating. So overall, a mixed review at best.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramadaoftuscaloosa, General Manager at Ramada Tuscaloosa, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thank you for your review. I am truly sorry that your stay wasn't completely perfect, but want to let you know that each of the issues will be addressed with our owners. We hope that if you come back to Tuscaloosa, you will choose to give us another shot!

Hospitably Yours,
Janell Colburn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed at the hotel the week of June 10th. One of the primary reasons we picked the Ramada was because of the pool so that our kids could use it at the end of a hot day. It was bright green and closed. We complained but the hotel management basically told us "tough luck". They did not handle the situation well at all.

Our room was very average. The bathroom shower head was broken. Also, we asked for extra pillows and were told that none were available. The only good thing I can say is that at least the room was clean.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramadaoftuscaloosa, General Manager at Ramada Tuscaloosa, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are truly sorry that your visit was less than satisfactorily. We definitely had some issues with algae in our pool and have worked diligently to work on this issue. We hope that if you come to Tuscaloosa, you will choose to give us another shot!

Hospitably Yours,
Janell Colburn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

This is a very reasonably priced place in a busy area of the city near the main exit to the university. Everything about it is average but the people who were very nice. Our room faced the pool which was shut down unfortunately for repairs. My son was rather disappointed but i can't hold that against the hotel as a pool owner- you never know when a pump part will go out. Our reserved check in was flawless with our location request met. We found the room to be clean and bug-free. My husband swept the beds immediately for bed bugs and found not one sign. Kudos to the hotel for purchasing bed bug mattress covers! Breakfast was simple but plentiful. The fresh fruit and waffles were great. My only complaint was the small size of the service area. We used the laundry for my son's camp shorts so kudos to them for that as well. Full beds a bit small but they slept well enough. Quiet after 10, Overall a nice 3 day stay for football camp that didn't kill our budget for a place we spent little time in other than sleeping.

Room Tip: Rooms facing pool on interior side are quieter!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TamsMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramadaoftuscaloosa, General Manager at Ramada Tuscaloosa, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thank you for your review. Our property is older than the majority of hotels in the area, but we want to make sure customer service in regards to our guest is top notch! We did have issues with our pool at the beginning of the summer and appreciate that you understand maintaining a pool this large can be quite an adventure. Please come and visit us again if you come to Tuscaloosa.

Hospitably Yours,
Janell Colburn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

I stayed one night after a long trip. I was going to stay three night but this hotel was not up to what i come to expect from Ramada. The room was very drity the smell was nasty.

Room Tip: clean rooms better
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GARY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramadaoftuscaloosa, General Manager at Ramada Tuscaloosa, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thank you for review. I am truly sorry that your experience with us was not a good one. We strive everyday to ensure that our guest are happy and comfortable when they stay with us. I hope if you come this way, you will give us another shot to show you that we do listen to each of our reviews and take action to make sure things are done correctly.

Hospitably Yours,
Janell Colburn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

On a trip to Atlanta, we had planned to stop in Meridian, MS, as a stopping point on our way from Brenham, TX. When we got there around 7 pm, it was inundated with motorcyclists. They were EVERYWHERE and it was difficult to maneuver in this town. We finally decided to move on and go to Tuscaloos, AL, another hour and a half. After reading some reviews on Tripadvisor, I chose to call this place as we were driving. A very nice young man was busy with customers, but promised to hold a room for me as we were on our way. True to his word, he had a room waiting for us and we were pleasantly surprised at how nice the hotel was, including the Continental breakfast. Definitely would recommend this place for price and convenience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Txpiglover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramadaoftuscaloosa, General Manager at Ramada Tuscaloosa, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thank you for your review. I am so very glad to hear that our staff member was able to assist you! His actions were what we would expect of all of our staff members and though at times we may not be able to do everything, we do want people to know we will always do what is in our power to ensure top notch customer service.

Hospitably Yours,
Janell Colburn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews