We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homecoming”
Review of Hotel Capstone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Capstone
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed for Homecoming with my family had 2 rooms. As always front desk staff awesome. Newly remodeled rooms comfortable. Only complaint bathrooms are very small. breakfast good and reasonably priced. grand daughter enjoyed the pool also. So easy to walk to campus makes it a great choice when visiting
overall great stay

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank Jean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry C, General Manager at Hotel Capstone, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

We are very happy that this guest enjoyed their visit and we thank them for the kind review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 313 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

We have a student staying on the UA campus and decided to give this hotel a try on a non-football weekend. Loved the location as we were able to walk the campus and walk right across the street to the Catholic church. We had a "suite" which was really just an extra large room with a couch and coffee table. The pull out couch was not particularly comfortable for my teenager, but survivable when we asked for an extra comforter and pillows. Asked for extra chairs as the desk chair was the only one in the room and we had guests visit. Staff readily brought some banquet chairs but they were a bit wobbly. Overall a clean, mostly quiet room with good décor. We were in room 373 which did not have any counter space as it looks like the laundry chute is right outside the room. I would highly recommend that the hotel install some hooks, shelves and or towel bars to help out with this situation as the tiny vanity drawers were inadequate. Overall a great stay and we would definitely choose this location again.

Room Tip: Ask for a different suite than 373.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peanutprettybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry C, General Manager at Hotel Capstone, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

We thank this guest for their kind remarks. Lack of adequate shelf space in the bathroom was identified after the bathroom renovation was complete and we have additional cabinetry on order. We are sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused our guest. We look forward to serving them during their next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

While it seems to have lost some of its overall management since changing from Sheraton, it is still a good place to stay. It's just at the edge of the U of AL campus, a draw for alums and a great place to have reunions and parties, and is surrounded by beautiful grounds.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank Annita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Hotel Capstone is the most convenient location of all to visit the campus! Everyone is ALWAYS friendly and they have done some great renovations in the restaurant and in the rooms. The food was good dinner and breakfast. Had a wonderful server for breakfast named Debra. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry C, General Manager at Hotel Capstone, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

We are happy that this guest enjoyed their visit, and we are always appreciative when our associates are mentioned by name so that they can receive special recognition form providing our guests superior service. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights for the FUN. concert at the Tuscaloosa Amphitheater. Our rooms were nice & clean, the pool area was totally empty which we enjoyed, the wifi was strong and free, parking was close and free, and there was breakfast nearby within walking distance in case you didn't want the breakfast in the restaurant. We did stop in for the hotel's breakfast on our last day and it was good. They didn't have the buffett that day because the hotel guest count wasn't high enough (?) but we didn't mind. Service was good, prive was as expected. ~30 for 2 coffees and 2 skillets (potatoes and veggies with eggs and cheese on top in a big skillet, very yummy) I'd definitely recommend this place and we'd stay here again if we ever come back!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandaNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry C, General Manager at Hotel Capstone, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

We are happy that this guest enjoyed their visit and thank them for the very nice review. We look forward to serving them on their next visit to Tuscaloosa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Recently completed my stay at the Capstone and look forward to a chance to return. Was in Tuscaloosa for a business trip and stayed at the Hotel Capstone. The recent renovations have made this property very modern and up to date. The room was of excellent size and the amenities appropriate. Staff was vey knowledgable and pleasent to interact with. The best part of the hotel is its location on the campus of the University of Alabama. Next time you travel to Tusacaloosa look no further stay at The Hotel Capstone!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank Nortons67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry C, General Manager at Hotel Capstone, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

We are glad that this contributor chose Hotel Capstone during their recent trip to Tuscaloosa. We are very happy that they enjoyed their stay and look forward to seeing them again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Really the only place to stay for game day. Traffics a nightmare but from the capstone u can walk to everything. Game. Quad. Sorority houses etc. hotel is very nice as well. Nice folks working there always pleasant and helpful. Matthew hood was instrumental in making my stay nice and always there to help. Rooms nice and clean fairly spacious considering. Beds comfy. Enjoy. Roll tide

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry C, General Manager at Hotel Capstone, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you to this guest for posting this kind review. We look forward to seeing them again, and Roll Tide Roll!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tuscaloosa hotels
1.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tuscaloosa Alabama Downtown
1.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Tuscaloosa Downtown
1.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Tuscaloosa Downtown University Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa-University
1.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tuscaloosa Near University
3.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tuscaloosa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capstone

Address: 320 Bryant Drive, Tuscaloosa, AL 35401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#5 Business Hotel in Tuscaloosa
Price Range: $121 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Capstone 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the historic University of Alabama campus, Hotel Capstone is your best lodging choice for campus visits, business trips, reunions, and weekend getaways in Tuscaloosa. Our full-service hotel also offers a beautiful venue for meetings and catered events of all kinds. Whether you’re traveling for business or pleasure, seeking convenience or comfort, location or amenities, Hotel Capstone has it all. We’ll welcome you in and treat you to the genuine Southern hospitality our region’s known for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Capstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points Tuscaloosa
Tuscaloosa Four Points
Capstone Hotel Tuscaloosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing