We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally .... An alternative to the same ole same ole”
Review of Southern Ale House

Southern Ale House
Ranked #21 of 288 Restaurants in Tuscaloosa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Finally .... An alternative to the same ole same ole”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Southern Ale House offers such a variety to the standard fare of Tuscaloosa! From the creative menu to the beer menu to the lively ambiance, this restaurant is more than worth a try.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank rmontyAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    27
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
131 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Food quality and presentation need attention”
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

The staff is friendly and attentive. The atmosphere is welcoming. The food needs more work to be up to par. I ordered the specialty, meat loaf. It came to the table barely warm. The mashed potatoes were stiff and dry. The greens were under cooked and still tough. I know the family that owns the restaurant and wish them success but they must redouble their attention to the cooks and food quality and presentation to match the excellence of the front staff

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tripsaroundtheglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, Alabama
Level Contributor
76 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Local Place”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Food is very good. Service exceptional, lots of attention and suggestions. The beer (local craft), wine and whiskey list is very good for a restaurant in this area.
I had a chicken biscuit. The biscuit is home made and the chicken was properly done and quite tasty. I really enjoyed the potato casserole the waitress suggested.
Two of our group ordered dessert. The Strawberry shortcake was excellent. They use one of their biscuits, add strawberries and whipped cream. Not too sweet, just right. The other dessert was the dark chocolate cheesecake. Locally made with a dark chocolate crust. Great chocolate taste without being overpowering.
The owner/manager stopped by our table and was interested in our experience and asked if we had any comments and/or suggestions.
All six people in my group stated that they would like to come back to Southern Ale House in the future. I definitely will.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, Alabama
Level Contributor
126 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent all the way Around”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a relatively new place. My wife and I have been there several times. The menu is a bit limited but the items are high quality. Steak is fantastic! You can get local brews and enjoy a nice atmosphere. Sit outside if you can.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 1BamaBacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
202 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Average ”
Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

Well, they let you sample the beers which is a plus. The food was bland and mediocre though. I had the burger and it was good however my father had the shrimp and grits and it had no flavor at all which is very strange. The prices were fine but I left a little unsatisfied. Hopefully they get the kinks out after a while.

Helpful?
Thank Abconnor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Ale House also viewed

 
Tuscaloosa, AL
 

Been to Southern Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing