We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and service”
Review of Kozy's Restaurant - CLOSED

Kozy's Restaurant
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed December 31, 2011

The food and service were quite good. This was our first trip to Kozy's but will not be our last. We split the mushroom and oyster appetizer. My wife had the lamb, med rare and I chose the duck, also medium rare. Both dishes were excellent. Dessert was a shared chocolate bread pudding, that was good. I think we would skip next time. Limited wine selection, but adequate. One minor issue is the parking lot leaves some room for improvement. I would advise to make reservations, as we visited on a Thursday evening and they were very busy. Worth the trip.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MEGDAVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    18
    12
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
tuscaloosa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed December 17, 2011

Kozy's is a great local restaurant with exceptional food. If you drive by, you would never know that the very inconspicuous house is a fine dining restaurant. White table cloths, candles, low lighting, proper waiters, etc. The food is wonderful and the menu changes regularly. Highly recommend the lamb, tuna, ribeye, shrimp & brie appetizer... and the creme' brulee is to die for. Expect to have a hefty check though... we spent $80 on our last visit with no alcohol. It can get very crowded on weekend nights so I highly recommend reservations, or go on a weeknight.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lyndseyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
85 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere and Food, but.....management?”
Reviewed December 15, 2011

I've always been a big fan of Kozy's. I love the crooner music, the layout, and the food is always delicious. But, recently my wife and I went there for a special occasion and had a less than stellar experience. The staff was friendly enough, but seemed somewhat inexperienced. We started with the Wine list and picked a white wine to go with our selection from the menu for fish. After we opened the bottle, the waiter came back and said the fish item we ordered was not available. Shouldn't he know that prior to bringing the menu? We shifted our order to another item and requested a substitute side item. Then, found out the side item we selected was not available either. Even out favorite dessert was unavailable, yet on the menu. WIth a restaurant of this price and caliber, I'd expect a little more organization. To top it off, the ink on their printer for the ticket was so low, that we could hardly read our ticket. Another management issue. Come on you guys. I'm be looking for another place in TTown for special occasions.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reg1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gadsden, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kozy's is very cozy”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Great atomosphere. The mushroom appetizer was yummy. Our steaks were perfectly prepared and all our food was served hot and fresh.
Waiter was courteous and attentive.
Bananas Foster bread pudding was delicous also.
Reservations are a must, and on a game weekend, make them a couple of weeks out.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Anne309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Big-city extravagance in a low-key setting”
Reviewed September 22, 2011

It's well-hidden in a simple white building and very out of the way, considerably farther from the university than Chuck's Fish or Brown's Corner, but it is right up there with the best T-Town has to offer. It operates much like any other fine dining spot; you don't come here for any sort of value, but you will get great food and gracious service. Nothing is given freely, save the water. The wine choices are excellent and the portions... small. It is an ideal spot to take a date on a special occasion or important business clients. Great taste, just watch what you order...

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IHaveAnIdiotBoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kozy's Restaurant also viewed

 
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing