We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for a large party”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cypress Inn

Cypress Inn
Ranked #14 of 286 Restaurants in Tuscaloosa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Tuscaloosa
Description: The Cypress Inn Restaurant has been established for over 30 years. It's beautiful riverfront views combined with quality southern cuisine and friendly service has made it one of Tuscaloosa's premiere casual dining establishments. It is a full service restaurant that also offers curbside takeaway to-go orders, delivery, catering and private parties. The Cypress Inn has private venues available for celebrations and events of any size and theme.
Charlotte
Level Contributor
58 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great for a large party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

My son graduated from UA and we were looking for a restaurant to accommodate a party of 12. I made the reservation 3 months ago. They had the table ready when we arrived. The waiter was very attentive and everyone was very friendly. Food was good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daja607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    137
    61
    26
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“INCREDIBLE!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We came to eat here after my niece's graduation from U of A. Absolutely fantastic!!! The shrimp and grits are to die for as well as the smoked chicken. I'm sure all the servers are fabulous but our server, Robert T., was the most attentive and helpful. I would give him 10 stars if possible!!! Love, love, love this place!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bzymom422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
280 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great venue for large groups!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

During the annual Commodity Conference for the Alabama Farmers Federation we had a large group tour to local farms and attractions in the area.
Our two tour busses of approximately 120 people stopped for a midday meal. We sat at round tables of 10 set with linen, iced teas, and water, and then visited a large buffet. Wonderful garden salad, steamed veggies, roasted new potatoes, catfish, hush puppies, rolls, tartar sauce, baked chicken in gravy, and peach cobbler and bread pudding awaited us!
The food was delicious and the wait staff attentive. The hostess opened up large garage type doors so as to allow some to be seated at the dock area with a beautiful view of the Black Warrior River.
This large dining pavilion would be wonderful for any type of party, reception, celebration! Just a little ways away from this building was the actual restaurant which I am sure displays the same character.
I highly recommend the Cypress Inn.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The restaurant overlooks the Black Warrier River and is a beautiful location.

Service was wonderful. While visiting Tuscaloosa we were treated to some wonderful southern hospitality and the Cypress Inn was no exception.

The food was OK. We tried the Fried GreenTomatoes as we had never actually had them before. They were pretty good! The main courses were good, but nothing to write home about. The rolls and muffins are fabulous though! I could have made a dinner of those alone.

We enjoyed dinner at Cypress Inn very much. I would recommend the restaurant highly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank teresalharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place for a Wedding Reception!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We recently went to a wedding reception at The Cypress Inn.
It was located just above the river, it was very scenic. Great walkway down to water. The food was amazing!! The weather and beautiful sunset just added to this wonderful evening!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank travel2gether78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cypress Inn also viewed

 

Been to Cypress Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing