We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good for a football weekend”

Howard Johnson University of Alabama Tuscaloosa
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson University of Alabama Tuscaloosa
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pretty good for a football weekend”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed here for the UA/AU game 11/23-11/25 and everything was good. Nothing overly impressive but nothing wrong either. The staff at check in and check out were both friendly and the room was clean. The breakfast was your average continental items (doughnuts, bagels, toast, muffins, cereal, juice, milk, and coffee). We will stay here again depending on the price for the weekend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PCB32413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    15
    13
    11
    21
See reviews for
20
12
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
O'Fallon, Missouri, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The hotel is in need of some upkeep (i.e. paint and caulk), but it is overall very clean. The rooms were a good size and the bathrrom bigger than expected. The breakfast was Ok for free. didn't eat there but they had fresh fruit, muffins, bread and bagels. Stayed friday and Saturday nights, and overall it was a good stay. For the price you can't beat it! Especially during football seacon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in May. Upon checking in the room I was greeted by 2 roaches!! My room was very dirty!! The sheets appeared to not have been washed. This is the nastiest hotel in the world!!!!!

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank iluvcilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

After driving 10 hours from Cleveland, OH, we decided to rest for the night before continuing onto Baton Rouge, LA. Howard Johnson seemed to be the ideal spot until we opened the door to our room. Low and behold, as we opened the door, we were swarmed by an army of roaches. Our visit lasted 5 minutes.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucas1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cohutta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The hotel is clean and clean. The rooms were sufficient sized. The bathroom bigger than expected.
The complimentary breakfast was a little meager. The fruit a little wrinkled, only bread and bagels, mini donuts and mini muffins.
I had to ask the desk clerk, Rene, for the coffee to be filled. The tables and counter were sticky and dirty. No paper towels by the sink to use for clean up. Another man asked if she would get more milk and then asked if she was going to put anything else out and she said "I am working on it", however, she went right back to her computer.
The rudeness of the clerk won't stop me from staying again, but I will take a bath cloth from my room to at least be able to clean a table off.
Good stay for the money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

My husband, toddler and I were on our way to visit family on the Gulf Coast. We were only an hour from home when it began to rain heavily. It was already late and we decided to try an exit and find a hotel for the night. We ran in to check the rates of a couple hotels nearby and I wasn't that thrilled with any of them. At the Howard Johnson there was a very sweet man that gave me rates and details about rooms that I was interested in. We got a room near the lobby. Check in took maybe two minutes. It was clean and tidy! I admit I was scared of what we were getting ourselves into but was so relieved. The room was pretty big too. My toddler loved running around (quietly of course) and we had a comfortable, quiet nights sleep. We had no view haha except the fence separating us from a gas station but even with that we hardly heard a peep! Don't know what's up with the bad reviews. It was $60. It's not going to be the Crown Plaza people!!! A comfortable room at a great rate. If we are ever in the same situation on the road we know where to stop!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Maddox79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tuscaloosa hotels
0.2 mi away
Centerstone Inn
Centerstone Inn
#24 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
133 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ramada Tuscaloosa
Ramada Tuscaloosa
#13 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Tuscaloosa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tuscaloosa
3.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#23 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
75 reviews
2.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Tuscaloosa - University of Alabama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson University of Alabama Tuscaloosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson University of Alabama Tuscaloosa

Property: Howard Johnson University of Alabama Tuscaloosa
Address: 4808 Skyland Blvd E, I-20 & I-59 Exit 76, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405-3528
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson University of Alabama Tuscaloosa 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson University of Alabama Tuscaloosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Tuscaloosa
Tuscaloosa Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing