We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little breakfast place”
Review of Waysider

Waysider
Ranked #17 of 289 Restaurants in Tuscaloosa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Northport, Alabama
Level Contributor
76 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great little breakfast place”
Reviewed January 17, 2012

This is a fixture in Tuscaloosa! Great home style breakfast.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank cchayes21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    50
    17
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
savannah,GA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Always good, but always busy”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

If you go on the weekend, especially a football weekend, plan on a wait. This is one of the best local spots for breakfast, but also has a very good homeade plate lunch as well. I have been eating here since the early 90's & the place hasnt changed much at all. Very limited seating. The food is worth the wait.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kews12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
118 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Tuscaloosa breakfast classic”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

This Tuscaloosa breakfast classic (they serve lunch, but are best known for their breakfasts, and don't serve dinner at all) is a staple. The food is excellent, if simple, and the biscuits literally melt in your mouth. Any given morning, there is the who's who of the Tuscaloosa business community eating there.

That being said, the space is cramped (its an old converted house), the parking is difficult to find it you don't know where it is (have to drive an extra 3 blocks around to park in the rear, and worst of all anything other than the normal breakfast items (such as a glass of orange juice) are WAY overpriced. Nevertheless, the great breakfast makes up for most of the problems.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TuscaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gadsden, Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Parking somewhat limited, but it is worth waiting for to eat their fabulous biscuits the size of a silver dollar.

Helpful?
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama, United States
1 review
“Don't Return Food to Kitchen”
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Love the Breakfast menu, Enjoy the Servers (they make us feel at home), Like the Cozy Atmosphere (close and tight) and the Prices are a Value in today's economy. Mom and I meet for breakfast once a month at Waysider's and completely enjoy ourselves. But, today, my 60th birthday breakfast with Mom brought a big surprise! I ordered my eggs over easy with the whites done. I had to send them back twice because the whites were very runny, no problem for me, I was in no hurry. But upon returning them the second time, the owner shouted from the kitchen, "What Now!" and came from the kitchen to publicly instruct me on how to ordered my eggs for the kitchen. My Mother and our waitress was astounded and embarrassed, I figured the owner was just having a bad morning. Surely, this is not normal behavior for her! Either way, Mom and I will not be returning to the Waysider, until Mom forgives the incident and she's known to hold a grudge for a very long time.
If this type of incident would have mortified you, the next time you dine at the Waysider- DON'T return anything to the kitchen, just suck it up and eat it raw. Marci

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waysider also viewed

 

Been to Waysider? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing