We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Rude” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Tuscaloosa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Tuscaloosa
Ranked #30 of 34 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Front desk person was very rude. I stopped before dark and the front door was locked. I went to the window and had to yell several times before I could get her attention. When I asked why the front door was locked so early she replied she did not like people in her face. I contacted the corporate office and received a form reply that they would look into this. Even though my company receives a discount I would rather pay more as I have had several bad experiences at Motel 6.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alcurtis55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    9
    10
    39
See reviews for
17
13
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paju, South Korea
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We have spent the last two weeks driving around America. I needed a room to stay at as we were making our way through Alabama. I didn't expect much from a motel in Alabama, and the Motel 6 Tuscaloosa didn't disappoint.

I proceeded to the lobby and met a drunk guest complaining about his phone. The receptionist was friendly. I paid for three rooms. When I entered the room with my wife and two babies, I was very upset at the condition of the room. I don't expect Motel 6 to be perfect as it is a bargain hotel chain, however I do expect some iota of upkeep.

The doors had what looked like Dexter-style yellow splatter on them (inside). The shower was awful and sprayed water in all directions. My bed was broken. The box springs were destroyed. I guess an elephant stayed there the night before.

In the morning, I was happily awakened to the sound of rap music with LOUD bass being blasted from a hoopty. At 8am. The receptionist happily asked for my email so that they can regain their coveted #1 ranking. Exactly what ranking is that? Being the best Motel 6 in Tuscaloosa? If they want to improve, I would suggest bulldozing the site and starting over with new management and a few hundred SWAT team cops.

Avoid this motel unless you enjoy being disappointed and a little frightened.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tollerhirsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I stayed at this motel for almost a week. The staff was always friendly and helpful. Come by everyday and asked if I needed any towels or anything. Clean motel for what you pay for. Yes, it is a party town on the weekends but otherwise very quiet. I would stay at this motel again. No compliants from me. I would like to say Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stopped here because I was falling asleep at the wheel. Just needed a place to sleep. For the price it was at least as good as others I been to. They did have wi-fi but it was not free. The bed was typical Motel 6, not comfortable but clean. I did ask for the handicap room, which may have been a little better than others. The tv was small but it had 2 HBO channels and Showtime. I shower was clean and hot and the coffee in the morning was pretty good. If you just need a place to sleep and you are on a budget, this is not a bad choice.

Room Tip: Get the handicap room if it is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tigertownbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Girl at front desk was very nice but the condition of the room wasn't. Room smelled like urine; water was very cold; lights next to bed didn't work! I eill br contacting the Alabama Department of Public Health about the water! You've been warned!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

I needed a place to rest during a recent road trip. This Motel 6 location was convenient to the major highway and was priced around $40. Though the price was quite economical, the room was rather basic. As a matter of fact, the hot water did not work in the bathroom faucet so I used water from the shower when needed. I also killed a couple of bugs during my stay. The room served my purpose for a brief overnight stay, but I may have thought twice about staying here if it was a longer stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RollTide95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

It's not horrible by any stretch of the imagination, but I would not recommend this property unless you are traveling with pets. It is increasingly difficult to find motels or hotels in Tuscaloosa that accept pets, so this narrowed it down to the Motel 6 for us. The hotel is located on McFarland Blvd. close to several other hotels. There are lots of fast food restaurants nearby, including a Chili's Restaurant. The Super WalMart is also within walking distance. The hotel does have laundry facilities which makes this somewhat appealing after traveling to get some laundry done. The rooms have a dirty feel to them, since they have an obvious wooden floor. I did not like it. The hotel seems to attract some late night partyiers. Again, not terrible, it just wouldn't be my first choice of places to stay in Tuscaloosa unless traveling with pets.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tuscaloosa hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#26 of 34 in Tuscaloosa
3.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Tuscaloosa
Ramada Tuscaloosa
#19 of 34 in Tuscaloosa
3.0 of 5 stars 306 reviews
1.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tuscaloosa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa
Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa
#16 of 34 in Tuscaloosa
4.5 of 5 stars 149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Tuscaloosa - University of Alabama
3.0 mi away
Centerstone Inn
Centerstone Inn
#20 of 34 in Tuscaloosa
3.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Tuscaloosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Tuscaloosa

Property: Motel 6 Tuscaloosa
Address: 4700 McFarland Blvd E, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405-3808
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 34 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Tuscaloosa 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Motel-6, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Motel 6 Tuscaloosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Tuscaloosa
Tuscaloosa Motel Six
Tuscaloosa Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing