We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Two Nights Here, Long Enough” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Tuscaloosa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 Tuscaloosa
Ranked #30 of 35 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Needles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Two Nights Here, Long Enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

It's not horrible by any stretch of the imagination, but I would not recommend this property unless you are traveling with pets. It is increasingly difficult to find motels or hotels in Tuscaloosa that accept pets, so this narrowed it down to the Motel 6 for us. The hotel is located on McFarland Blvd. close to several other hotels. There are lots of fast food restaurants nearby, including a Chili's Restaurant. The Super WalMart is also within walking distance. The hotel does have laundry facilities which makes this somewhat appealing after traveling to get some laundry done. The rooms have a dirty feel to them, since they have an obvious wooden floor. I did not like it. The hotel seems to attract some late night partyiers. Again, not terrible, it just wouldn't be my first choice of places to stay in Tuscaloosa unless traveling with pets.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    10
    10
    41
See reviews for
20
13
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

If you are only looking for a place to lay down and go to sleep for a few hours then the price is right. $45 for two and a queen bed but the price is about all that is good. We were unfortunate enough to stay here during graduation weekend for University of Alabama and checking in late the poor guy at the registration desk was by himself, having problems with his computer and seemed like he had just guzzled a 6 pack of 5 hour energy drinks. The clerk told us one room number but wrote another on the key envelope and unfortunately the key did not work in either room and both rooms were hard to find. The room itself was roughly the size of a prison cell and no carpet, a very small tv set and an A/C unit that didn't get the room cool till well into the night. I have to use a CPAP machine and the only electrical outlet was by the door and luckily my power cord reached the bed. Just a grungy place all around. Will not stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aladude2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
399 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

This motel has been part refreshed and the rooms are clean & comfortable, but as with so many Motel 6's, it is in a noisy location, so take your ear plugs.

Room Tip: Request a room at the rear for a quieter room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManicUSAVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

Not a safe room at all. The lock on the door was a joke. Guest service is not a priority, bed was not made for 3 days, dirty towels were picked up daily, clean towels were thrown on the unmade bed. One towel only in a room with 2 adults. On our second day no towels were left at all, called front desk and told that there were not enough towels ready and the cleaning staff had to get off the clock and we could go to the front desk to get them if we wanted them. Shower was way too small even for a small woman and the entire bathroom floor was wet when you finished.
This is not a place I would stay again, even though the price was low it was a pretty awful place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
141 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

The whole property is filthy nasty and trashy.. The people that are staying inthe rooms are scary.. Cops were in and out all night.. They even have a security guard on duty! It's that bad.. The felt like I was in the ghetto! Stay away. The a/c was very noisy when it cycles on and off.. Old units.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Limomike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Payne, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

My husband's father passed away and we were in from Northern Alabama. We pull up at this hotel and it looked okay in the daylight but when it got dark this place turned into a living nightmare. My children 9 and 10 got ate up with flea bites. My 10 year old got bit 78 times. There were roaches on the walls also. I never knew he was getting ate up like this until he started showing me bugs up in the legs of his pants. There were so many prostitutes, drug addicts, and other shady people at this hotel just hanging around in the parking lot. I was so afraid that our vehicle would be broken into to. My husband left and I was there with the kids and 4 different times someone tried opening my door to my room. There were dents in the steel doors! After about 2 hours in this nightmare hotel I packed my stuff, and told my family to take off running to our vehicle. People were yelling and cussing and i didn't know what to do. Later on we came back and demanded our money be refunded. We got the refund after my husband threatened to call the police. People don't just stay here for one night, they live here. Prostitutes and pimps along with drug addicts work out of this hotel. We went right down the road to the Super 8 and it was so much better. In my life I have been scared beyond beleif 2 times and this was one of those times. Don't ever stay here please it is NOT safe! It is really dirty also. Feces on comode seat, no tolietries, no towels, no coffee pot, no fridge, no NOTHING. Once again PLEASE DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL IT IS DANGEROUS IN MANY WAYS.....spend $24 extra dollars and go to the Super 8 right down the road!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlegurl111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2011

This hotel was disgusting! Roaches in room, pubic hair in shower.....a lot of it to, shady people. We left and went to super motel 8 much much better! Motel 6 should be free to sleep in. Right when I got there I got asked for money, cigarettes, being stared and pointed at by scary men, prostitutes walking around......HORRIBLE

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missourigirl316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tuscaloosa hotels
0.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Tuscaloosa - University of Alabama
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#27 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Tuscaloosa
Ramada Tuscaloosa
#17 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tuscaloosa
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#18 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
1.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Tuscaloosa
SpringHill Suites Tuscaloosa
#12 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Tuscaloosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Tuscaloosa

Property: Motel 6 Tuscaloosa
Address: 4700 McFarland Blvd E, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405-3808
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 35 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Tuscaloosa 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Motel-6, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Motel 6 Tuscaloosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Tuscaloosa
Tuscaloosa Motel Six
Tuscaloosa Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing