We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Location For Games” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn Tuscaloosa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn Tuscaloosa to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn Tuscaloosa
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3501 McFarland Boulevard, Tuscaloosa, AL 35611   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 34 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Level Contributor
193 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great Location For Games”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Housekeeping Beat Our Door so hard at EIGHT AM, We thought we were being broken into (we had a Do Not Disturb Sign On Our Door).
Sheets did not stay on the mattress. AC Worked Good. ABC Store Across the street, waffle house in the parking lot, and shrimp basket is in front as well.
It's what we needed for game weekend, nothing more.
A lady helped me on the phone for checkin she was above and beyond nice. The rest of the staff was nice as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheKrispyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    6
    5
    27
See reviews for
14
3
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stayed here like four times and it's perfect for me, my room was clean and i had a mini fridge and a microwave, cable tv, hot water and free wifi and everything worked perfect,
Friendly staff, convenient parking, room in good condition, Restaurants close by,
i did not feel unsafe. The hotel staff was very helpful and made me feel very secure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Horrid! Ratchet!  

Please please please never stay at America's Best Value Inn! It maybe a value but best it is certainly not! I was in town for the weekend getting my daughter settled in school and this was the only hotel available. I reserved 3 nights but i could only stomach 1 night. My room was horrible it looked like the remnants of murderous crime scene. The lamps were lopsided, dirty and had no bulbs. The so called sofa-bed was just an old dingy chair and ottoman.  The floor was covered with brown spots and the bathtub was covered with brown thick crud! I requested a non smoking room but front deck stated they couldn't guarantee that no one had smoked in the room. Of course when i entered the so call non smoking room it reeked of smoke and there were cigarette burns/holes on the comforter. And to top it off America's Best would not give me a refund on the remaining 2 nights.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nuddytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

This was the absolute worst hotel I have ever stayed at. I am not sure what was worse the service or the rooms. My first room was absolutely horrible. When I walked in the room it had a strong smell of smoke even though it had a no smoking sign clearly posted in the door. The bathroom had dirty and hair all over the bathtub. We asked the lady to change rooms and she had an attitude. The second room was better but there was a hole in the wall. Me and my friend definately showered with our shoes on. I will not stay here again ever.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shelbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

DO NOT STAY HERE! This is the dirtiest hotel I have ever seen. There was mystery goo on the walls. The towels were beige from age and the sheets were yellow with age. The carpet was so dirty it was almost black The bed was lumpy and all springs. I spent 15 minutes in this room and couldnt stay it was so filthy!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colby831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
al
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

Knowing this is a old hotel must be considered. rms 154 and 156 adjoin. Sink, tub, toilet, bed, furniture, refrig and microwave were clean. I do agree the carpet should be steam cleaned .(there are black spots under the sink).(this could be the old smell) Staff are very nice and helpful. free breakfast was coffee, OJ,grapefruit juice, instant oatmeal, bagle, packaged sweet cakes, apples. next door to Waffle house and seafood rest. (dont have to lose park space to eat out). plenty of parking. easy in and out from hwy. Slept well.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank animegoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

I've stayed here on numerous trips to Tuscaloosa. Unfortunately, the staff "DOES NOT KNOW HOW TO CLEAN. The rooms, carpet, bathtubs, etc. Are filthy, especially the bathtubs. I was afraid to get in the tub without shower shoes, and my better half used a towel to set in the tub to take her bath. .

IF someone would only "TEACH THESE PEOPLE HOW TO CLEAN", the hotel would be a good value for the money. The cleaning staff were friendly, and we watched them, it was clear, to us they DO NOT KNOW HOW TO CLEAN TUBBS/SHOWERS, etc.

The clock radio in our room would not work. We had to bother the front desk for a wake- up call each night. They had no replacement radio for the room.

My last stay, I killed a number of roaches in my room.

Our last visit, the pool was broken. We were ther for a week.

The room had no door sweep. You could see clear daylight under the door. Making this one repair would save on AC and heat bills.

There were four ICE machines, that I found, and none of them worked...

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blueeyes47150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvituscaloosa, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn Tuscaloosa, responded to this review, February 9, 2011
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for taking time to send us your comments regarding your stay. We got our housekeeping staff together and watched a video on "How to clean" and we are happy to say that everything now is much cleaner. We hope you will give us another try if you are in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tuscaloosa hotels
0.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Tuscaloosa - University of Alabama
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#25 of 34 in Tuscaloosa
3.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
1.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tuscaloosa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Tuscaloosa Extended Stay Hotel
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#17 of 34 in Tuscaloosa
4.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
2.9 mi away
Value Place Tuscaloosa
Value Place Tuscaloosa
#22 of 34 in Tuscaloosa
3.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Tuscaloosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Tuscaloosa

Property: Americas Best Value Inn Tuscaloosa
Address: 3501 McFarland Boulevard, Tuscaloosa, AL 35611
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 34 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Tuscaloosa 2*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Tuscaloosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing